Fishing Domke Lake


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
May 27th 2011
Published: June 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My alarm sounded at 4:50 am and after loading up my fishing gear and checking our mountain bikes for air in the tires - John and I were out of the village before 6 and bicycling 12 miles down to Lucerne (where the ferry boat dropped me off on day 1). The early morning was breathtaking. The sun peaked over the northern ridge and blue sky created the canvass for the sharp peaked mountains to stand out. The bike trip was exhilarating and I took plenty of pictures up lake and the northern cascades. We left out mountain bikes in Lucerne and hiked 3 miles over to Domke Lake. A man named Sid (who looked just like Colonel Custard) rented us a row boat and was surprised to see a picture of my golden trout from R.R. creek. John quickly caught his limit of 5 trout while I rowed. He used a complicated and obnoxious trolling lure with a night crawler on the end. I used a brass rooster tail, but the wind and weather turned against us and made it difficult. I finally figured out what speed and depth the fish wanted and personally caught 10, but only kept 4. John caught one more so we could take our full limit (10) back to the village. We hiked back over to Lucerne in time to catch the afternoon bus back up to the village. After cleaning the fish in the creek, taking a shower, and eating dinner - I could hardly keep my eyes open. I attended a 1:15 hr presentation on a boat ministry to the Native Americans in Alaska, but could hardly stay awake. So, I missed vespers and fell asleep at 7:30 pm. What a day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



8th June 2011

Enjoy the PNW
Hey Pastor Webb, I grew up in Marin County (SF Bay Area) and one a family trip we went through Oregon, visited the Olympics (also WA), as well as Victoria, BC (I need to explore Canada more). Part of my Navy service was in Bremerton. I am so glad you chose this wonderful piece of God’s world. I missed things like Rainbow trout and BIG mountains like Mt. Rainer. I helped Eileen by starting the stripping process on the wooden chair in the downstairs men’s room today. She seemed pleased and that pleases me. I’m also glad I made time to do something for the church. It’s hard because I have to start making money. I told Pastor Seth and his wife that he’s doing so well he has attained what I call ‘theocratic genius’. I hope it all doesn’t go to his head. He seems pretty happy being in command (the earthly, and interim, leader) of Asheville’s most prestigious and God-filled church. We miss you and I look forward to you and Pastor Seth both being in the sanctuary again. At the same time I think you know how many people there are that take care of the church so you can feel like your sabbatical is something to just savor and you and the Webb family deserve that. I’m sure that people needing your ministry miss your presence most, but we know you are still with us in sprit. Best wishes, Grant Millin

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb