Fishing R.R. Creek and Exploring the Holden Mine


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
May 26th 2011
Published: June 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 3 at Holden - Today was supposed to be a lazy day, but ended up full of adventure and fun experiences. The kitchen cooked up my lake trout for breakfast and the village enjoyed a tasty bite. I wandered up to the old mine and took lots of pictures of the old equipment, a classic outhouse, and the beautiful mountains above Holden. I continued on to the end of the 3rd tier of copper tailings and took a picture of the village down below. I wanted to go down a different route so I tromped through the snow and discovered copper creek. I tried following the trail, but quickly lost it in the heavy piles of snow under the pine trees. I managed to traverse my way up high enough to see copper falls and zoom in for a picture. I made my way back to the village in time for coffee break (with blueberry coffee cake - yum!). I sat with my presbyterian friends, Gary and Darrel. The 3 of us walked down to Svend's bridge and circled back up and around the mine to the 2nd tier of tailing piles. After lunch I ventured off to find more fish in Railroad creek. I ended up catching 3 more in the same hole near the Labyrinth. I found out that these are golden trout! After dinner I enjoyed a variety of activities including: reading "The Book of God" in the village library, evening vespers titled "Grace upon Grace", ice cream in the snack bar (think 1950's soda fountain), 3 games of pool in the pool with Kevin from Milwaukee (who knows Frankie - small world eh?), and finishing the day with Compline from the ELW.

Tomorrow I have a big trip over to Domke Lake for more fishing.

Good night John Boy.... Good night Mary Ellen....


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb