Olympic National Park to Yakima- July 5th


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Yakima
July 7th 2009
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Left Port Townsend in the morning and swept around the west side of the Olympic Peninsula. Stopped at the Hoh Rain Forest. Walked both of the trails there, and kept going around the peninsula. Stopped at one of the Olympic National Park beach areas for a little stroll on the beach. Kept circling around the peninsula until traffic slowed to a near standstill where the peninsula connects with the mainland. Everyone was coming back home from the area after the 4th of July weekend, and it took me 45 minutes to go 2.5 miles. After I got passed the jam, I continued driving east and stopped in Yakima, WA. I left Yakima today and stopped in Spokane, WA for the night. On to Glacier National Park tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Not really sure what this is


7th July 2009

Rain Forest?? Ugh, all these pictures are amazing, I am so jealous of everything you're seeing.
7th July 2009

Best pictures ever
Matt, Your pictures so tell your story. So glad all is well. Has your weather really been as good as it sounds? Love is... Bizz
7th July 2009

Yes, the weather has been great. Haven't seen any rain since I left Colorado, which is kinda weird. I do have all my pictures saved on my camera.
7th July 2009

What kind of trees? Mom
8th July 2009

They were mostly pine trees that were covered with moss.
8th July 2009

Nice Photos
I am a ranger at Olympic National Park and I always like to read about the experiences of visitors at ONP. The critter that you were not sure about was an Ochre Sea Star. Judging from where it is at, (not attached to a rock), it has probably seen better days! Be safe in your travels!

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb