The Camino - One Week and Counting


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Tacoma
June 10th 2013
Published: June 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I am now a week from departure. As of Thursday of this past week I had experienced my first trial of the Camino. If its any indication of arranging transportation in Europe boy am I in trouble! I have been trying for well over a week to book my train from Barcelona, Spain to Bayonne, France and then from Bayonne to St. Jean Pied de Port where I actually start the physical Camino de Santiago. The piece from Bayonne to St. Jean was not the problem, but the longer first leg was! Rail Europe kept saying tickets weren't available or some other problem and I would need to call. Every other online service I used kept routing me back to Rail Europe where I got that same response over and over again.

Finally this past Thursday I called. The automated service answered and I was then on hold for close to an hour. Finally I had to hang up. I tried again on Friday. This time I got an automated response that would put my number and call me back when it was my turn. I received a call back from Rail Europe almost an hour later and was then put on hold for 5-10 minutes. I did finally get a very nice man to help me. He said the reason I couldn't book my trip online was because it was a complicated booking. He proceeded to tell me how to do it myself, and I proceeded to tell him I would pay the $15 to have him book it!

My trek from Barcelona begins at 7:35 on the morning of the 20th. I take the train to a town I thought he said was called to Iran (I now know its Irun). I arrive in Irun some time after 1. My next train departs from a town approximately a mile or so away from Irun in a town I thought he called Hundyai like the car (it is Hendaye). That train doesn't leave until 5 something, so I am just going to walk there. From Hendaye I go to Bayonnne. Then I disembark from that train and in 7 minutes get on the rail lines BUS and take it the 40 minutes or so to St. Jean. Wooo - I am tired just thinking about it. Then lets hope I can find a hostel open once I get there. On the 21st I awake to begin my trek across the Pyrennes on the Camino.

Amid the trials are always blessings though. Today my church honored me with a sending on my journey. Pastor Ruud presented the blessing and gave me a framed copy of the prayer he sent me with. After church I was blessed by many more blessings from members of the congregation. I am so very blessed to belong to such a loving and supportive congregation with such amazing pastors. Without St. Marks I would not be doing the Camino - lasts summer's program on pilgrimages was the impetus to get me going on this road. I thank the Lord every day for the blessings and opportunities he has put before me, and I pray that I will be open to His voice as I walk the Camino.

For all of you reading this. Thank you for following me and sharing the journey with me. Your thoughts and prayers are indeed appreciate. Know you are also in mine. Many thanks to Pastor Ruud for the support and the listening ear and the prayers - you gave me the one piece I was missing for the journey. To my dear friends in China who blessed me with there love. When I was there to serve you I was the one blessed by your love and friendship! I especially dedicate this walk to my dear friend Andrew - many prayers will be prayed for you in churches and cathedrals throughout Spain my friend. Also to my children who have always been the greatest gift I have ever been given!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.283s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0923s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb