Work For The Future


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Tacoma
February 3rd 2009
Published: February 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another good day closes. I returned home exhausted. I chatted with Erin, Scott, and Elise as I fell asleep on our living room floor.

This morning, I ran blinking through the sunlight. I tend to run when I am very excited... or when I am cold. I was both. The clear day made for no insulation, but plenty of sunshine. I met with Michel to talk about my future. We chatted for one hour and he gave me some "homework." Michel gets me. He really does. And he always has great ideas or insights into my personality/state of being. When I told him that the UW Anthropology PhD takes an average of 9 years, he responded: "Don't touch it. You could get an MD in that time!" We then talked about the variety of degrees (and degree combinations) that one could achieve in nine years, which I will investigate. In addition I found two, 5-year (and funded!) environmental anthropology programs.

I had a lovely dinner tonight in Seattle with five friends. We ate at a place called 611 Supreme. It is a creperie where you eat crepes and muscles the traditional way. There is also much cider to be had. I had a savory crepe with spinach, gruyere, tomatoes, and mushrooms. I followed it up with a crepe filled with chocolate moose and almonds covered in chocolate shavings. This was actually a very stupid thing to do, as I then went and practiced fast lindy with Mitchell for two hours. Frequently I would stop, put my hands on my knees, and say "I am going to vomit." Mitchell would respond with, "Ok. Let's try that spin again." ... or something of that sort. I still feel nauteous. I will only eat salads at our weekly social dinners from now on.

I turned in the last part of the application for the traineeship in Kenya this morning. We'll see what the fates have for me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb