At Home, the adventure complete


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
May 27th 2012
Published: May 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

at homeat homeat home

Jenohn, arm in sling, at the front gate of his home in Seattle
I reached Seattle safely late on May 14th. It was good to see my house and sleep in my own bed. I quickly got back into my usual routine; went to the opera to see Madame Butterfly with friend Nancy, reconnected with my favorite little girls next door and then on the 19th started off on a bicycle ride on a clear, sunny day. At about mile 30 on the popular Sammamish River trail I swirved to avoid a yappy little dog, hit the pavement edge and crashed in a heap.

I am now slowly recovering from surgery to repair a shattered left wrist. I also have several bruises, cuts and sprains to deal with. I'll be out of commission for some time but I consider myself a very lucky man. I could have been much more seriously injured or even killed. Something like this would have been a real disaster had it happened while I was in India or Egypt thousands of miles from home. Here in Seattle I am blessed with good medical care and many treasured friends and neighbors. Now I have some forced down time ahead during which I can revisit in my mind the wonderful adventure I just completed. It was an experience I shall not soon forget.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb