Goodbye USA - for now.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » SeaTac
June 3rd 2013
Published: June 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Yes - this is goodbye - but I am sure I will be back one day - there is so much I have enjoyed here- the magnificent scenery, fabulous cities, great food and wonderful people.

These last couple of days Bob and Marti have worked hard to entertain me and make sure I havent mssed too much of the local highlights and of course as always with these hospitality swaps I get included in the family ..so I got to meet Bob's mum - a wonderful old lady of 98 who lives in a really nice retirement home in the city...and she goes to the gym 5 times a week!! Always great to hear the family stories.

Sun has shone on me these last few days - I was taken out the the family home on Vashon Island so we went across on the ferry ( obligatory boat trip done) - and I spent the day loafing about in the garden which is right on the water - so peaceful - I could have stayed there a few more days if I had had time.

A longer trip saw us driving into the mountains to the East of Seattle - the Cascades - where I got quite a surprise to find that the town of Leavenworth in the mountains has re-configured itself to look like a town in Bavaria !!! Men with lederhosen , ladies in dirndls and all the buildings look like chalets ...some enterprising folk have turned this town into quite a touriist destination. On our way back from there down a very sceneic pass we stopped at a forest resort to admire the sculptures - including a Dale Chihully glass ice formation a top a huge rock...and Bob made ne have my photo taken by the colourful salmon!!! By this time we needed food so stopped at the 59er Diner - all retro 50's style - juke box, milk shakes, at the counter, all kinds of burgers, and James Dean in the Ladies Restroom ( well a life size cutout!!) - great fun - they even gave you bubble gum and Marti did try to blow a bubble but it didn't look too good.

So that's it - I am at the airport ( free wifi ) and soon will be boarding. So many thanks to give to all the lovely people who have hosted me and entertained me and driven me around ...and once home I have to finish planning my trip to France in July.

See you all soon. LOve xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Evil Eye ??Evil Eye ??
Evil Eye ??

is it casting a spell or protecting you?
Driftwood Driftwood
Driftwood

would make a good fire!!


4th June 2013

Thanks for coming to the U.S.
You took a good look around. Many come to the U.S. and only see Vegas and LA or NYC. That does not give you a true picture of the USA. Isn't Leavenworth a great little town? Let us know when you are coming back.
4th June 2013
Driftwood

inspiring
or insipiration for sculpture... have a safe trip home to your lovely family. love sharing your travels virtually. Looking forward to our next trip together...
4th June 2013

looks really beautiful and peaceful- perfect for meditation. like the sound of the 59er diner too. xxx
4th June 2013

Travel
Have a safe trip home dear friend. Return soon. Love, BJ
4th June 2013

What an honor it was to meet you. I may never get to visit all the places you have been to, but being added to your blog, I can travel along with you in spirit as I view your wonderful pictures and read your interesting and informative blogs. We enjoyed the warmth of your company and welcome you back anytime. Sounds like you had a wonderful time with your new friends in Washington. Wishing you a safe trip home. Take care. Stay safe and keep laughter in your life. Always, Rosemarie
4th June 2013

Welcome Home!
Hi Lynne It has been wonderful to follow you on your travels - in between entertaining my brother and sister-in-law! - I always wonder how you manage to settle once you reach home. Seeing and hearing about Seattle makes me determine to visit my cousin who lives there! See you on Monday?! Love Jill

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb