Quack Quack


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Ocean Park » The Dunes
October 2nd 2007
Published: October 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Why we don't own a houseWhy we don't own a houseWhy we don't own a house

on Long Beach Peninsula. If this one costs this much...
I must have sounded very whiny about being homesick, because I got a lot of letters cheering me up! It wasn't one of those moods that engulfs you, just a shallow one that I waded around in for a couple days, and now I'm fine. It was wonderful to hear from so many people, and thank you thank you for your kind words about our blog. It's nice to know people enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it.

Well, we are learning about Washington/Oregon rain, and it’s not rain like we’ve ever seen. The rain literally dumps from the sky. I’ve said before that the sky can go from sunny to cloudy in the blink of an eye, when it does that, the clouds may or may not have rain in them, and you can’t tell by looking. (Of course, the air has so much water in it it’s never very far from raining!) The night before last it started raining, and it has rained ever since (and still is!) This morning it was the same cloudy sky, and then BING, the sun is out. I walked into a building and picked up some things and heard
$98,500.00?????$98,500.00?????$98,500.00?????

And bear in mind, this place is not on the beach. It's on the highway. And you see all that's there.
a sound…I went back to the door to look out, and it was dumping rain. And the sun was still shining. It’s the strangest thing. I heard a radio announcer say if you see someone with an umbrella, they’re not from around here. People here don’t bother with them. And that’s about what we’ve seen. This afternoon I saw some people standing on the street visiting…in the rain. They could have taken two steps back and been under an awning, but apparently none of them cared enough. When you walk on the sandy soil in the yards it feels kind of like a sponge. I don’t think I’m doing a good job describing what it’s like, but it is something we’ve never experienced before. (Right now we’re having a sun break, but I’m not fooled….it’s coming again.) I asked someone at lunch (Bea & I went to lunch at a tea house with some women in a stained glass class…my first time at a tea house, and no, I’m not in the glass class, but I would like to try it sometime) how long this will last, and she said until April or May! And it’s not at all cold.
How much for this one????How much for this one????How much for this one????

This is the one I'd want...
Cool, but not cold. We think it will be, until we go outside. But it’s wet! (Opps, sun break over!) And you don’t hear people talking about how much rain they got….that doesn’t seem to matter either! Maybe they keep a running total until May, and then compare!

One of the differences between being at a college (our last project) and a camp is that we have to work around the campers. They’re not here during the week, but by Wednesday we hear plans about how many are coming, and what buildings have to be ready. We needed to be done painting by today so they could get in the dining room to strip and wax the floor. And during the weekend we are cautious about which buildings we go into, because the campers may be using that building. Then on Monday everything relaxes again. The campers clean their own cabins, so we just check for cobwebs at the end of the week, and make sure the trash has been emptied….that’s my job for tomorrow. Our next project is at a conference center. I don't know what that is, but will get back to you when I do!
Fits in our budgetFits in our budgetFits in our budget

And this is what we'd probably end up with!! Anyone looking for a little fixer-upper?

Something I've learned: I thought there were just two kinds of sea gulls….landfill sea gulls, and ocean sea gulls. Surprise~~turns out there are many kinds! But the gulls around the ocean have webbed feet. Apparently landfill eating sea gulls don’t need them. Makes sense, but it really surprised us when we noticed their feet. See how smart we're getting!




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Stepping stonesStepping stones
Stepping stones

The stained glass class was making stepping stones like these. The glass is set into the cement, and they're durable enough to walk on.
More stonesMore stones
More stones

I'm adding two more stepping stones because it's my site, and I really like them!
Last one...Last one...
Last one...

This is the last one I'm adding, not the last one Sharon had in her patio!


Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb