Too busy to hike?


Advertisement
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

On the trailOn the trailOn the trail

A reason Washington is known as the Emerald State
I hoped it would be warmer when we got back home, but it hasn't been! That's been my primary excuse for not hiking since we've been back! A couple of weekends ago the weatherman's prediction and what was actually happening outside matched up! But! We also had my four year old nephew for the weekend. I remembered one of my favorite places to go with my girlfriends was Twin Falls--a short hike off I-90 (about 30 minutes outside of Seattle) that has gorgeous waterfalls and family friendly. So off we went.....with thousands of other Seattleites looking to enjoy the brief sunshine.

We headed out on the highway around 10:30am, and arrived just in time to see 5 more cars pull in to the parking lot behind us. That's ok; nature should be enjoyed by all.

This trail is about 3 miles in all; you can start the hike from one side or the other, and it had been awhile since I had started from this end. Green trees and plants of all kinds guided us along our route. It was a little steep in places and on some of the switchbacks, but the roar of the water kept us motivated to see the falls. About a mile and a quarter in we saw the stairs that leads down to the first vantage point of the falls. We walked down the well-built wooden stairs to a platform where we could feel the rush of the Lower Falls--in all of my trips to Twin Falls, I had never seen the falls this full and powerful. Water raged down below us, sending up amist that you might think it was raining out there. The sun sparkled off of the water, creating rainbow after rainbow. (I told my nephew that we were getting sprayed by rainbows). We all laughed delightedly as we paused and took in the beautiful scenery. We decided to hike another 1/4 of a mile to a bridge to the Upper Falls; while the rainbows were not visible from here, there was still a gorgeous view all around.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Jason getting rained on....Jason getting rained on....
Jason getting rained on....

no that's just the waterfall!


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb