Euro Adventures Part Deux


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Mukilteo
August 3rd 2009
Published: August 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Current Location: Sitting on my deck overlooking Puget Sound

I am leaving the States in less than 48 hours and have not placed one single item into my bags. Period. As my current location suggests I am not in a hurry to do so at the moment. Life this summer in Seattle has been a crazy hectic time frame. With graduation from college to working full time at Nordstrom, not having any clue as to what I would be doing after said graduation occurred. For me I enjoy not knowing what is going to be happening next in life. There is certain spontaneity to that and I fully expect to stay like that for the rest of my youth. It is hard for me to think about leaving for Switzerland, crossing the Atlantic Ocean for the third time in my life. In order to become an Au Pair for a family I have not met and will first meet in person in the airport in Zurich.

A part of me keeps thinking about how crazy I am to be doing this, why I can't be like my friends here at home and start working straight out of school. I still feel like something is missing from my life. Like going overseas will help me discover why I have issues stepping outside my comfort zone. Not that anyone could guess that since I am moving somewhere again where I have no knowledge of the language (German) and what little I do know I got from the movie "Cool Runnings".

People that I have spoken to tell me what an amazing time I will have in Zurich and how they wish they were able to do what I am currently going to be doing. Which at the moment is trying to pack my freaking bags... Why anyone would undertake something like that willingly is beyond me. I may be coming Stateside again during Christmas, but I am still not sure. So I must bring all of my essential items for four different seasons. Anyone who knows me can attest that I have way too much "stuff". Things that very few people would know what to do with, in my defense though I have sorted through my closet many times this summer in order to organize my life. Getting rid of the non-essential items and only buying the few new things that I could bring with me to Zurich inside my two checked bags.

So now I am off to do the seemingly impossible of putting my life into two checked bags.

Wish me luck.

Wish me luck.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb