First Day Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
March 2nd 2012
Published: March 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well here we are, back home and the girls first day at their new home. I've got to say this is going to be on of the hardest things our girls are going to experience in their lives. I can't imagine what it would be like to be 9 years old and some stranger show up and take me away from everything I've ever know. However....Rose is smiling more then I've seen her smile since she joined the family. You can tell she really loves her new home. Lilly is still smiling like she has been since we first met her so she's kind of hard to read but she loves the cats here. Daisy (cat) really doesn't like to be held, which Lilly wants to do, but she still hangs around to let Lilly pet her and such.

All 3 girls are getting along really well. Jasmine still is trying to be the teacher and wants to help Rose and Lilly learn English. I really think Rose is missing school. She worked for the longest time yesterday writing the Chinese word and English words from one of the picture books we have. You can tell she really loves learning. I can see why she has the certificate for being in the top of her class.

I had to run into town to pick up our stray luggage and out Jasmine's request I run over to Walmart to pick up water coloring paint and paper. Jasmine and Rose worked with that for a long while yesterday. We now have the first official Rose Qing Ling painting hanging on the bedroom door hall of fame. After she gave her painting to me I told her she needed to sign it, not sure how but she understood my attempt at Mandarin and knew what I wanted. She signed her painting, in Chinese with her name.

I do have to mention, and not trying to compare one child to the other, but seeing the painting Rose did, which were great and looked like what you would expect from a 9 year old, it makes me again think about the artistic talents Jasmine has.
I do hope she continues to develop her artistic talents, I would so love to have the skill she has to draw, sculpt, create and such.

So after a day of the girls exploring their new home, I really think they can't believe there's so much open space around here, it should be interesting when I take them for a walk and they see the big open field just up the road from here. Trust me, there wasn't any open spaces where they came from, just people, people, people....when you have over a billion people you're going to run into to many people in whatever you're trying to do.

Last night was their first “home cooked” meal, and introduction to western diet (sounds funny to think of us east coast people being “westerns”) so what would be the perfect meal? Taco’s of course! Our version of a Taco is about as American as it gets. So here we are calling everyone to the table, Jenny fixed beef (aka ground turkey but we're not telling anyone it
wasn't ground beef) and chicken. We had soft shells and hard shells.

Along with fiery hot Spanish rice. So......how did the girls take to this new food? Let's just say it was a BIG hit. Lilly and Rose dove into everything like it was the best thing they have ever had. Rose loved the heat Jenny put into the Spanish rice, no one else could stand the heat other then her and I. And she went back for 3rds on the rice. I'm so looking forward to having a loves the heat companion . I guess what they say about people from Jiangxi is true, they love
spicy foods.

All in all I think Rose and Lilly's first day at their new home was an Quèdìng (OK) day.

Enough for today, I'll post more later as the girls get adjusted to their new home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb