La Capital!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Washington
March 20th 2011
Published: March 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The last day in NYC I set out to do nothing in particular besides visiting little Italy which I had missed the day before by going over Manhattan bridge, getting to liberty island, and of course being in time for my 8.30bus to DC.
So again I took the subway down south to the ferry.
Where to my amazement the waiting line seemed even longer then the day before, so getting to liberty island seemed out of the question.
I found that to be a bit of a pity but not the end of the world... little Italy here I come!!

It seemed more like Chinatown-in-a-little-Italy though but besides some fighting between grown people there wasn’t rlly anything special to be seen here unless U count 30chandeleer shops in a row as something to be remembered.
Then I went to check out some other sights, like the base of Empire State, Times square(U can never stop exploring this site) where I found Macy's, ye I know how could I have missed that the previous time :l
So, for you who don’t know, macy's is the worlds biggest shop, or at least it claims to be.
And ye, its pretty darn big, like the size of a soccer field... and that nine levels high...
After shopping my heart out(no I didn’t buy anything..) it was time to go pick up by bag at the hostel and head to the bus-station.

At around 9pm, an hour late, the bus left.
Along the way, after some clever calculating I found out that I would be arriving at 1am instead of 6am, which it said on the website.
Which was pretty crappy for me cause that meant waiting around in the bus terminal for about 6hours, till dawn.
The 6am, I found out, was … Belgian time, which still shows on my laptop.
Anyway, I was pleased to find out that at the bus terminal they had a round the clock diner-place with some nice nachos n cheese, chicken nuggets and fries 😊
It kind of was dawn before I knew it which meant that I could go out and make my way to the hostel to check in and deposit my bag.

On my way to Union Station, from where I was going to make my way to the hostel, I needed to be light on my feet like a ballerina to avoid stepping on the countless homeless persons on the pavement.
Union station being the nicest station I ever visited, the kind of place where U don’t want to soil the floor, was truly impressive.
And well this was the impression which I had with most of the sights around the exit of the station, one of them being Capitol building in the distance.
After admiring the place a bit I walked over to the hostel, left my bag and set of in direction of … the white house 😊

Which wasn’t as big as you’d expect or as heavily defended and besides 2people protesting against war or something and an Islamic guy drawing attention by loudly praying and telling everyone who passes that that was his right to do so there and something else about being oppressed, it was a calm place too.
And a fun place, apparently squirls are everywhere in the states(or atleast NY and DC).
The little fellas came as close as less than a meter and when I left 3 of them followed me around the park seeming very interested in my camera.

So then it was memorial-time.
In case you didnt know, DC counts like a gazillion monuments dedicated to great presidents and even greater men.
I wont tell about each and everyone of them(i'll let the pictures do the talking for me) but i'll just say it was a long walk and they were actually pretty much all quite impressive.

At around 2pm I limped, tired as I was, back to the hostel where I spend the rest of the day in the public living-area.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



20th March 2011

cute!
Aaaawwwwww, cute squirls! I bet those were the highlight of your trip so far! I noticed you go out for dinner a lot, would have thought you'd just buy some bread and make your own sandwiches. Which made me wonder: what are food prices like over there? Another observation of mine: did you notice you always take the same pose when you make a picture, and have the same facial expression? You should try another experession every day and have us guessing which one it was! :-D Loving the pics though, so proud of you! Be safe!
21st March 2011

Yee those were pretty fun, took me close to half an hour to move on from them to the white house ... following me around, freezing still when i stare at em, looking funny when i use the zoom, climbing up&down trees .... ye i will surely miss them when i move to San Fran tomoro :) Well the foor might just be a bit cheaper over here than in Europe and besides that they have more difference in diners in therms of budget. So u can eat like a plate of pasta in a 'brasserie' type of place for ten dollars or so(7-8euros?) or u can eat a hotdog for a dollar fifty on the corner of a street(obviously u can go out for stake in a restaurant and pay more too if u want that) and dont forget when u go eat at a place where they serve the food at the tables, a 20% tip is normal. Well i dont really see how i can change my stance when i am talking fotos of myself stretching my arm....
21st March 2011

I'm sure it's got a timed function! You can just place it somewhere (not too far so it won't be stolen) and then you've got more options :-D Ooooooor.... ask a cute girl to take the pic :-D And the food... you are just eating junk food then! What about your veggies?!? (noooooooo, pickles and fried onion does NOT count!) The pics look great Peter, don't worry about my silly comments ;-) And have fun in San Fransisco! Can't wait to read about your next day!
21st March 2011

time to shave
Hi Pieje, Every day i meet other people who wants to visit your blog. They are all very exited about the way you are travelling and reporting your daily adventures. But im afraid they will be scared when they see your face on the pictures... so we advice you to buy some rasermaterial !!! We wish you already a nice flight to the other side. Besides that we are very curious about that argentinian person you were telling about... Where is her picture? Big hug, sabine en papa

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0955s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb