The Irish Sprint 10k 2012


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Triangle
March 17th 2012
Published: March 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

The first race of the Marine Corps Marathon Series is the Irish Sprint, which I ran last year and felt no need to do again (flying 2,000 miles to run 6 is really only something I needed to do once...) but friends were running it (or were supposed to) and so I registered and once I've registered for a race, it takes a great deal for me to miss it, whether my friends end up running or not.

So...I flew to Reagan (DCA), rented a car, drove to MCM Headquarters to meet with the guys who helped us get the charity (America 4R Marines) registered this year, drove to packet pick-up to get my number (844), drove to the Goodwill to find running clothes (...don't ask), drove to a grocery store where I spent $65 on food I would eventually pack back to Utah and then checked into my hotel. (Don't you guys love reading the boring day-to-day stuff?! haha! But I did find a killer pair of Nike running pants that I'm keeping and two sweatshirts that I LOVE...I don't care if they DID come from the Goodwill!)

Race morning I left the hotel with everything as I was going straight back to the airport when the race was finished. This year the race was held in the Prince William Forest in Triangle, just next to Quantico...something I didn't know until I had picked up my packet. (I really should start reading the emails they send.) Runners and spectators were shuttled to the starting line and then from the finish line back to our cars. Everything seemed to run very smoothly, except that about 100 of us were late to the starting line! The buses ran a little slower than expected, but nevertheless, we all eventually made it and started running once we arrived.

The course was through the Prince William Forest and on hard-pack trail for about half of the race. It was awesome running through the forest and as the 2,000 runners were sent out in four separate waves, it thinned things out so we could enjoy the race without tripping over each other.

There were quite a few steep hills throughout the course and one at the finish line, which is laughable. The Marines are really insistent that there be a hill at the end of every race. It's as if they scoured the forest for the hill that would do the most damage and then said, "Yep, this one'll do!" The finish line was a welcomed sight.

I added 4 minutes this year, which isn't good for a race only 6 miles long. It is, however, a reflection of how I've spent my training hours this year...too much playing, not enough sweating. At any rate, I had a great time and wish I didn't live so far away from this race. The Irish Sprint is growing on me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Running through Prince William ForestRunning through Prince William Forest
Running through Prince William Forest

The 2012 Irish Sprint 10k
Mile 4 Water StationMile 4 Water Station
Mile 4 Water Station

The 2012 Irish Sprint 10k
Nearing the finish lineNearing the finish line
Nearing the finish line

The 2012 Irish Sprint 10k


Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb