A Final Stop


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Manassas
January 19th 2007
Published: January 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Julian y YoJulian y YoJulian y Yo

Many jokes to be made about this photo.
So, it's my last day in the U.S. I arrived last night in Washington, DC and went a little south with Julian to his place. I really enjoy train rides. It was a long ride from Amherst to DC, but it was extremely pleasant. I had plenty of room and very smooth trip without much effort at all. The DC-metro area is really pretty nice. The people here are quite friendly and there's a lot of stuff to see.

I went to the Bull Run Battlefield sight today with Julian. It's very beautiful, in a creepy kind of way. It's especially interesting to consider that the Confederates ended up winning that battle.

Near Julian's apartment is pretty much every major food and shopping chain that anyone could ever want. It's a little disturbing how much commercial sprawl there is here. But, there are gems even in such a place, as Julian introduced me to a local burger chain called 5 Guys. If you like In N Out burgers, then I'd highly recommend 5 guys. The burgers are great and the fries are everything In N Out's try to be, fresh, clean, but also flavorful (that's because they're fried in peanut oil...).

It's great to be in the area, hanging with Julian. Tonight the plan is to head out to Arlington to see a movie with Iris. Then we'll head to New York City, where I'll depart for Athens tomorrow! By Sunday, I'll be in my new apartment getting ready for the semester.

Advertisement



19th January 2007

adios mio
Nice way to watch the trip. Thanks Anthony we'll be following your travels. Love Dad and Mom ( and JoeY)

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb