Just Tuggin' Around


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Chesapeake
December 2nd 2013
Published: December 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I finished my first session at MITAGS and now it's time to get my hands dirty. I am working for The Vane Brothers on the Chesapeake Bay pushing barges between Norfolk, Yorktown and Salisbury MD. I am working/living on the 100ft tug Roanoke and we are pushing a 250 ft. barge. I got onboard in mid November for a couple weeks, went home for a week and now I am back on for four weeks. I am learning the ropes of a deckhand, cleaning the head and tying up the barge. We had a small leak in the tug and had to get hauled out in Norfolk by the worlds largest travel lift. We got back in the water in less than 24 hours. It's been great learning all the aspects of working the deck. More to come.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb