Getting Ready - A Snag


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Alexandria
October 16th 2012
Published: October 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

When we travel it seems there is always so much to do, so much to remember and so many things that can go wrong especially for a sometimes absent minded person. Tuesday afternoon I sat down at last to organize my passport and travel paperwork. What a shock when I reached in my small pouch I use to carry my passport. There was NO PASSPORT!



The flight was less than 48 hours. Of course, immediately the mind starts running in circles—Where?? When?? What?? The first idea that popped in head was that I’d photocopied my Bolivia visa in the morning at Kinkos hours ago. I phoned them, but the man I spoke with was out and would return shortly. I jumped in the car and drove to Kinkos. No one had seen a passport. They looked in the safe, at the machines, and cash registers. No passport!



My heart and brain were racing. Driving home I thought about the paper that had been on top of the passport when I made the copies. If that paper was in the house then my passport was somewhere in the house. I ran in the house and looked though the stack of papers, and that paper was there.



OK, the passport is in the house. Think! Scanner! Yes, I had scanned the visa in the morning. I ran to the scanner and there was there on the scanner. What a relief.



Later in the middle of the night I woke up with my heart racing and short of breath. The adrenaline that my system pumped that day was still surging in my body and mind.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb