Capitol Reef National Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Capitol Reef
September 4th 2009
Published: September 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Capitol ReefCapitol ReefCapitol Reef

On my way in to the park

This was a brief drive through from Bryce and I mapped out the scenic route that took me through the edges of this park. Either there is no actual entrance to this park or I missed it by driving through the "outside edge." I was very glad I did though. I am fascinated by geology in general and getting to see all the differences in the rock of these area's is just fabulous.

The first picture here is just of some of the geology.






The next area is what made me so very happy I stopped through here. There was a sign on the road that said "<---- petroglyphs" so over I go and what a nice surprise! There were standing binoculars on platforms to look up at the cliffs (they tried to keep people from getting too close of course because some vandalism had happened here- I just don't understand people some times. I suppose it's ignorance). I have a few pictures here, the white carvings in the red stone are the most clear. There are darker carvings also and I those you probably need to get the enlarged picture.






These were just great!!! The board said that the bigger more obvious figures represent Gods in headdresses.





I think one of these animal pictures is a bit odd... I wonder what this was supposed to be!



This area had a river running through it at one point which has since mostly dried up. I think there is still some remnants but I didn't see them on my quick run through. The settlers that lived here planted orchards and there are still orchards here today - in fact some of them are now "U pick" orchards.




I included a picture of a very tiny cabin - the description was that a family of 10 lived in this cabin!!!! The parents and youngest children slept inside, the older girls in a wagon outside the cabin and the boys slept in rock shelves nearby. Amazing. And I dare to grumble at some of these hotel rooms...

This was just a quick drive through like I said. The other pictures were mediocre at best as I was snapping pictures while driving. I really did try NOT to
Capitol Reef PetroglyphsCapitol Reef PetroglyphsCapitol Reef Petroglyphs

This animal is weird. I wonder what it was meant to represent?
do that - and I rarely did it if there were cars behind me and I was moving faster than 20 mph... really... I did...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Capitol Reef PetroglyphsCapitol Reef Petroglyphs
Capitol Reef Petroglyphs

These are a little hard to see - I suggest clicking on the photo to make it bigger


Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb