Capitol Reef National Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Capitol Reef
September 17th 2007
Published: October 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Capitol Reef National Park was the last of the national parks I was able to visit on my mini vaction to Utah. Capitol Reef was a very nice surprise. It has some wonderful red and white rock features. The Chimney is quite a site standing all alone rising from the floor. Also present is a formation named the Castle and a massive white rock the Capitol Reef Park is named for which early discoverers named the Capitol because it reminded them of the Capitol Dome.

Also near Capitol Reef is the Grand Staircase National Monument which is a new Monument having just been designated in 1996 amidst some controversy. The area before Capitol Reef and after Grand Staircase is quite impressive as well. A scenic drive takes you to too many geologic features to count or take photos of.

Afterwards, it was the long drive back to Denver, CO. That was an interesting drive because when I drove through to Utah 5 days before there was no snow on the mountain tops but when I drove back through today there was snow all over on the mountain tops!

It was a great mini vacation. A little rushed because I didn't have much time and wanted to see a little of everything. Still good overall because it gave me a good idea of the spots I would want to come back and spend much more time exploring versus the spots that I'm happy to say I saw but don't need to spend as much time at again if ever given the opportunity.

Next stop...Denver, CO and back to work.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



11th November 2007

Inspirational
Hey there - just thought I'd let you know that your photos are also really inspirational! Looking forward to seeing your Italy ones!
12th November 2007

Thanks!
I LOVED your sunrise ones. Some of the best I've seen and I look at a lot of photos. I really enjoy photos.

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 93; dbt: 0.1251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb