Arches National Park-You Want Arches...I Got Arches


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Arches National Park
September 14th 2007
Published: October 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

First up in Utah was Arches National Park. Was very surprised as I made my way from Colorado to Utah how the rocks changed almost instantly from white rock to red rock. Where at the Colorado National Monument is was the white rock with occasionally brown and beiges and green trees and brush. In Arches, the red rock is what makes them famous.

Got in last night right before sunset so was able to do a quick tour of some of the main sites on the south side of Arches National Park. Which was great which saved me some time the next morning since I wasn't able to book the Furnace Tour since it was all booked. That was disappointing because I had heard really good things about the tour and how it gets you right into the formations for some amazing photos.

Because of time, I wasn't able to do any hikes longer than a mile and a half. Regardless, was able to take the shorter hikes to the windows, double arch and delicate arch. Today was going to be my busiest day for site seeing and I had a jammed schedule. Knew going in I wasn't going to be able to see everything on my list since I had to be in southern Utah that night, but it doesn't hurt to try!

I've loaded up several pictures but there are just so many others I could have also loaded up. It's hard to take a bad picture and I hope these pictures of mine show somewhat just how beautiful this part of the country is. I did not get to take photos of all the arches and windows since some required longer hikes which I did not have time for on this trip. What this trip is teaching me is which parks I need to come back to and spend more time at and which parks I don't need to.

So...have posted several photos from Arches which I hope you'll enjoy!

Next up...Dead Horse Point State Park.




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Delicate ArchDelicate Arch
Delicate Arch

It's much bigger than it appears as you can see by the people next to it.
View of 4 SistersView of 4 Sisters
View of 4 Sisters

to the right
Park Avenue Photo LinePark Avenue Photo Line
Park Avenue Photo Line

Here's the line up of folks waiting for the sunrise on Park Avenue. Thought it made a good picture.


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 23; qc: 96; dbt: 0.0939s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb