March 13 - Museum of Science and History, Mcgee Beach, Shrimp boats at the T Head


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
March 13th 2012
Published: March 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

March 13 - Tuesday – 08:30 – Port Aransas – On the beach.......It’s quiet and foggy this morning. I hear the waves lapping on the shore about 75 yards in front of me and some children laughing and playing. It is foggy but the fog is receding around me a bit at a time and the nearest fellow camper is about 75 yards away and is starting to be visible in the fog. The beach here is about 100 yards wide from the dunes to the water and the campers are spaced from 50 to 100 yards apart. There is a nice breeze blowing and an occasional car drives by slowly behind me....There are some Spring Breakers parked to my left and they were talking and laughing around their campfire late last night but they appear to all be sleeping in their tent now. I can’t say I’ve seen any of the drunkenness and rowdiness I hear about Spring Break. I guess that sort went to South Padre Island. No Girls Gone Wild here……I guess I will clean up and change clothes and go to the MacDonalds on the mainland to send this out...While sorting out some things in the back of my truck a long line of 24 Pelicans flew just overhead. I didn’t realize they traveled in a line like that…Today the plan is to go to the Museum of Science and History in Corpus as well as find the harbor the Shrimpers use…I had planned to go to San Antonio tomorrow but now am thinking I will stay down here for as long as I feel like it and then go from there. I can go through San Antonio on the way back home…I took the ferry to the mainland and after making my usual stop at MacDonalds for coffee and internet drove to Corpus Christi and made the Museum of Science and History my first stop. I checked out the exhibits and took a few pictures……It was distressing to see that the replicas of the Pinta and Santa Maria were being allowed to rot away…After touring the museum I drove down Shoreline Blvd to Mcgee Beach. This is one of the beaches that the locals use. After checking out the beach I drove back up shoreline Blvd to the People’s street T Head and checked out the shrimp boats…..After a very full and tiring day I drove and ferried back to Port Aransas beach for the night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb