Grand Tour of Texas: Day 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
December 18th 2010
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 2 of Grand Tour of Texas!!!

Started my day by heading into Fort Worth for a peak at the world famous Water Gardens. Someone dies here each year from swimming in it. Its also been in the movie Logan's Run. I've been here before and it always impresses me but after a while the cascading noise becomes too much.

SO I headed to Wichita Falls, TX afterwards. Took a long boring drive up to the top part of Texas and saw the Fake falls that Wichita Falls was named after, after people kept asking where the Wichita Falls were. They are well put together for fake falls. The hike to this place was tranquil though. But then the falls are right next to a highway.

I took off right after and headed to Amarillo passing through segments of what was once Route 66. Before that I drove through the middle of nowhere. I will admit I love the serene beauty of middle of nowhere. I love the silence and the loneliness.

Roadside attractions start becoming more interesting up here. I saw the World's Biggest Ball of Devil's Wire, the World's Biggest Standing Cross (I think), and a Leaning Water Tower of Texas purposely built that way. The Christian Theme Park was interesting. It has a huge gigantic cross with many statues showing the various stages of the cross. I guess I am supposed to know these stages? My favorite was the Last Super scene. I sat there with the rest of the Apostles and wondered aloud whether I was the one who'd betray Jesus. Set against the backdrop of the Texas Plans sunset were the crosses of Calvary. I admit that was a nice set up. Then there is also Christ's empty tomb. Its kind of spooky.

I also peed behind the monuments (Not RIGHT on the monuments, just behind somewhere on a hill.) I am sorry! I needed to go bad!!!!!! I don't think Christ would of minded.

I arrived in Amarillo just in time to catch the sunset and moonrise over Cadillac Ranch, one of my favorite places EVER! But people, pick up your trash! Come on!

It was also freezing by this point so I took a couple pictures, took in the amazing sunset and walked around and in between the cadillacs for a few moments before I called it a day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Abandoned MansionAbandoned Mansion
Abandoned Mansion

This probably was a very nice house at one point.
The Middle of Nowhere!The Middle of Nowhere!
The Middle of Nowhere!

I've got no idea where I am!
Leaning Water Tower of TexasLeaning Water Tower of Texas
Leaning Water Tower of Texas

As far as I know its purposely built that way!


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb