Howdy from Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
November 25th 2007
Published: November 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Luna MansionLuna MansionLuna Mansion

This is the Luna Mansion in Los Lunas, NM where we had Thanksgiving dinner. It is about 50 miles north of Socorro.
Hello from Fairfield Lake State Park in Texas. It’s about 80 miles southeast of Dallas.

I arrived here Saturday afternoon and have been visiting with friends. I covered a LOT of ground since I left Socorro early Friday morning. Those of you who may have been looking at the weather might have noticed there has been some snow in NM and western TX.

I decided to try and get as far as I could on Friday to get ahead of the weather. The roads were fine but I saw a dusting of snow in southeast NM and as much as an inch or two in west TX. Was able to go 480 miles to Abilene on Friday so I was ahead of all the snow the area got yesterday. The drive from Abilene to Fairfield was rainy with low visibility along the way but uneventful.

It was nice to be off the road early yesterday. Today has been a very nice relaxing day.

I discovered a connection between San Antonio, NM, Fairfield, TX, and Vicksburg, MS this weekend.

When I was checking in at the state park office, I mentioned to one of the park rangers
Valley of FiresValley of FiresValley of Fires

This is a view of the lava fields with a dusting of snow in the Valley of Fires State Park near Carrizozo, NM.
I had driven from Socorro, NM. He participates in Civil War reenactments and told me folks from Fairfield had gone to NM to fight in a Civil War battle. They captured some cannons at the battle and brought them back to TX. As it turns out, the canons are currently undergoing restoration at Texas A&M and weren’t on display at the court house. But I got to read a plaque today. Later I looked at my NM map and saw the battle of Val Verde took place JUST south of Bosque del Apache NWR. While reading other historical markers around the courthouse, I learned a Captain from Fairfield lead a battalion during the siege of Vicksburg (one of my destinations on the drive home).

So it has been quite interesting to by accident realize I covered the same ground as Civil War soldiers when I came from Socorro, NM to Fairfield, TX (and as I go to Vicksburg). I’m guessing the soldiers took a slightly more direct route from TX to NM, but I am amazed as I think about them traveling that distance during the Civil War. I hope to find out some more information on the battle
Capitan MountainsCapitan MountainsCapitan Mountains

Taken just east of Capitan, NM in the Capitan Mountains.
of Val Verde.

I continue my trek homeward Monday morning. I think I’ve finally mapped out a basic itinerary.

Monday I’m off to Vidalia, LA just across the Mississippi from Natchez. Tuesday morning I’m going to spend some time in Natchez and head up river to Vicksburg where I’ll stay Tuesday and Wednesday nights. I’ll visit the battlefields and other historic sites in Vicksburg.

Thursday I’m going to the Birmingham area. Friday on to Chattanooga where I plan to do some sightseeing (never been to Chattanooga other than driving through in a hurry on the interstate). Saturday I should head on home to Asheville (unless I decide to stay an extra night in Chattanooga!).

As always, thanks for checking in with me. I hope to have some more photos to share in the coming days.

Bruce



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Snow covered side roadSnow covered side road
Snow covered side road

A view of Ike and Trina from the side road I walked down to take the previous image of Capitan Mountains.
five minutes laterfive minutes later
five minutes later

Less than five minutes later, the same mountains look completely different. I had to pull over and take one last shot of this mountain. It was so neat watching the changing weather and how the views changed.


Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 79; dbt: 0.1097s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb