Almost to the Border


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Orange
September 5th 2010
Published: September 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

A Morning WalkA Morning WalkA Morning Walk

This was a typical sign in Louisiana when we stopped anywhere.
We left Mobile, AL yesterday morning early. After walking the dogs and having something to eat, we were on the road by 8:30. That may not seem very early to alot of people (especially us!), but to actually be underway at that time is great. We've been on the road around 9 - 10 other mornings.....lots to do in the mornings! I am actually taking my time this morning to write in this blog...and it's only 6:15am.
Yesterday's drive seemed very long to me. Louisianna is a very long state....so is Texas. We've got a 2 day drive to the border from here and now we see a tropical storm is brewing in the Gulf heading straight for Brownsville. Damn. This will be the first time since we left, that the potential for crappy weather is looming ahead. I don't care about Bill or I...we can handle anything that comes our way. It's Lobo that has kept us all running...inlcuding Sebastian! I'm not looking forward to being stuck in a motel room with him for a day. There will be no kicking back, relaxing and watching movies all day. He's an absolute angel in the van, though. He's so quiet while we're moving....he just sleeps. But as soon as we stop...watch it. He's ready for some fun!
Can't say I've enjoyed the food down here in the south....especially driving the highways. There is a Waffle House Restaurant and a Cracker Barrel Restaurant on every corner...off every exit. (no thanks). I picked up some items at a local grocery story (another story....yuck), so the only meal we're buying out is dinner....and that's only if I can find something that doesn't have grits in it or is BBQ or is fried. It's been a challenge for me to eat a healthy meal. Bill will eat anything and it doesn't bother him....the bastard. I actually found a little place last night where I had sushi. It was wonderful....next to an avacado salad. Perfect! We'll see what Texas has to offer the next couple of days. Any suggestions, Rosy??
Once we cross the border, internet will be spotty, I'm sure. Just to let everyone know.....




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Good Dog!Good Dog!
Good Dog!

This is how he is the whole time we are moving...but it's a different story when we stop.


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb