Getting Ready to Go


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
February 6th 2011
Published: February 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, I have two weeks until I go on my journey. Wow, I feel like it has come upon me really quickly, but at the same time, I have felt like it has taken me forever to get to this point. That is always what it feels like for me I guess. I am so excited! I know that it won't be easy to be away for two months, but it is something that I feel like I need to do. I think that it will be an incredible experience with a life-changing potential.

So, my general plan is to start in Bangkok, then go down to Koh Tao and learn to scuba dive, possibly then go to Phuket, although it is looking pretty expensive so I might go to a cheaper location. My mom's friend said that scuba diving the Indian Ocean is supposed to be really cool. It would be hard for me to pass up, I have to admit. Even if I am a newbie at scuba diving. Then, I would head to Ayutthaya - just for the day, if possible - and up to Chiang Mai to ride the elephants, take in some culture and learn Thai cooking. Then off to the border with Laos, taking a slow boat down the Mekong river, and then to Luang Prabang for some cooking and just enjoying Laos. Probably a quick stop in Vientiane, then on to Vietnam, to enjoy the sights of Sapa, Hanoi, Halong Bay, Hoi An, and who knows where else. Of course I plan on going to Cambodia to see Angkor Wat and the capital of Phnom Penh. If possible, I would love to spend a week or so on some random Thai beach, but only if I have time. Then a few days in Beijing and I am back home in Texas, back to the real world.


Right now I am working on making my plans as well as studying like crazy for my LCSW exam, which I take on the 16th. My last week of work is this week and I am telling my clients that I am leaving. I am a bit nervous about that and bummed to have to say goodbye, but I know that they will be fine. The reality of everything is setting in on me and it is very exciting but very scary. But I have faith that this is going to be awesome.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb