Vancouver to Seattle with a Delay to Houston


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
February 5th 2011
Published: February 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Green Leaf Creme BruleeGreen Leaf Creme BruleeGreen Leaf Creme Brulee

On ICE! I know BUT I can say I would recommend it!
So the journey has begun and of course with some little hitches along the way.

Firstly, I have to say that I'm a big fan of the Quick Coach bus line from Vancouver to Seattle. It's got WiFi and was suppose to be 4 hours but it got me to downtown Seattle within 3.25. No lineups at the border, no paying for parking, no hassles other than getting myself to the bus in the pouring rain and having to spurge on a taxi because my pack was starting to soak. Even met an interesting guy who works in gold mining and had an inspiring discussion about life transitions. Go figure!

I had a couple hours to wait for Tia since I was early and thanks to D. at the front desk of the Best Western I was able to get some work done that I didn't want to take on this trip. I also was fortunate enough to have had a chat with a lovely little girl from California who approached me with a, "Excuse Miss, yous are a classy lady huh?!". Trinity, this ridiculously adorable Puerto Rican girl, was on vacation with her family and after two minutes found out that she watches too much tv and has a very smart mouth but very sweet nonetheless.

At 5pm the lovely Tia picked me downtown and took me to Green Leaf for dinner. For those who know me Vietnamese Pho houses aren't my first choice for food stops but I have to say it was amazing. Not to mention the man of the house apparently had a bit of an infatuation with Miss Tia and brought us dessert on the house. I would have never thought that Creme Brulee could be served iced but it is and it's good!

My first flight out to Seattle was canceled and thanks to Maya I didnt have to head to the airport to find out. I did however have to spend over an hour on the phone and I can tell you that Continental is not a recommended flying option anymore. Regardless of the issues with giving my seat away and canceling my flight without advising and shutting down their phone lines I made it to Houston by noon on Friday.

Houston has been a bit of a world wind with a few hours sleep, dressing up to the nines for Maya and Errol's school Gala where I saw more platinum and diamonds than in a jewelry store and the first live auction of my life where one family paid $45,000 for a painting done by a primary class, picture below. The evening was filled with meeting so interesting people and amazing food. The hope it to come back to Houston later this year to do some workshops for the parents which would be fun and exciting.

Maya and Errol as usual were unbelievable hosts. For those who don't know they are kind of like my second family with an Indian flair. They are two people that I can truly say have helped shaped my world and who I am today and I am very grateful. They pretty much spoiled me the last couple days which was an unexpected and extremely appreciated treat.

After a little sightseeing, a massage, some shopping, and my first experience at Kenny and Ziggies (If you are in Houston, I seriously recommend this Jewish deli style restaurant) I am about to pack and head to the airport in a few hours.

By tomorrow evening I will be on the Island of Utila in Honduras where I will be spending a week with the amazing Jason Sugar taking my first scuba diving course and working through my fear of open water.

Stay tuned




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Gala dinnerGala dinner
Gala dinner

I'm not into red meat.. but this Texan steak was the most tender beef I've ever had in my life
Gala dessertGala dessert
Gala dessert

Lemon crema with raspberry puree... unbelievable
Errols kids projectErrols kids project
Errols kids project

Live Auction sold it for $8500
Maya's kids projectMaya's kids project
Maya's kids project

Live Auction sold it for $9000
The biggest take home..The biggest take home..
The biggest take home..

This sold for $45,000 USD
Post Oak School Art roomPost Oak School Art room
Post Oak School Art room

I was blessed to meet the art teacher Luz Grand.. all the tiles on the ceiling were done by children under 12 years of age.
Rothko ChapelRothko Chapel
Rothko Chapel

A sacred place open to every traditional denominational.. This was all I get before I get in trouble for using my camera.. It's highly recommended to check out
Kenny and Ziggies'sKenny and Ziggies's
Kenny and Ziggies's

Homemade chicken noodle soup with my Motzoh ball


6th February 2011

Have fun!
Wow! Have a great trip Loretta! Can't wait to hear about your scuba diving adventures :)
6th February 2011

Ist Blog
Glad to hear you've made your destination. So far seems that food and art have been a big part of your first few days. Yummy pictures. Keep safe Love Mom
7th February 2011

Great Start!
What a great way to start a holiday! Food and more food! Have fun Loretta!

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb