Flailing Around in Texas


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Saved: July 12th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Kyle FieldKyle FieldKyle Field

Seats 90,000 people I have no chance of getting laid with
Its been four days in Texas and I can’t fucking get used to this place.

First off, its physically impossible to live here. Every fucking day its mid to high 90’s, the sun is blazing down and for some reason, its ridiculously humid even though its situated near a desert (but not humid enough to rain).

I doesn’t help that I came straight from Montreal (where it was upper 50’s). I have to shower every thirty minutes to scrape off the layer of sweat that forms after the previous shower.

If it weren’t for showers, A/C’s and Gatorade, I would’ve emptied my account for a ticket home.

I hate Texas.

Secondly, I can’t get used to the many small things here. I’ve already gotten into two verbal arguments about the Civil War (or the War of Northern Aggression, as they like to call it over here), I constantly glance at my watch as I wait impatiently for people to drawl to the end of their sentences, there’s nothing here and if there is something, its so fucking far away that its not worth walking under the blazing sun.

One thing that tripped me out was
It's Massive!It's Massive!It's Massive!

So massive, in fact, that I had to take two pictures just to show it...
a guy down the hall got a Concealed Weapon Permit. A fucking Concealed Weapon Permit! Coming from the City, I’m used to people being strapped, but to actually have a government issued piece of paper that let’s you legally carry one!?

Fuck, I can’t even get into fights here because people can legally be hiding a glock and then legally shoot my head off (and then probably get a handshake and a key to the city from the mayor when they find out I have slanty eyes).

I hate Texas.

Third, the main reason why I’m here (except, of course, to experience the vibrant culture of Texas while participating in cutting edge research at Texas A&M’s state of the art facilities) is for playing baseball. But I realized I can’t spit game here.

In fact, I can’t even spit “making friends” yet. I came a week later than everyone else so the cliques are already set up, and surprise!, there isn’t an Asian clique…or a clique that has room for a skinny Asian from the North.

By default, I’ve become friends with some of the people in my computer lab but they’re strange—don’t drink, don’t party, don’t go out…stereotypical behavior for Asians and white computer nerds manifest themselves everywhere in this country, I guess.

But that’s obviously not a main concern—I just need to find people. I can make friends pretty easily in any environment and its only been four days—three of which I’ve been spending in the office in front of a CRT monitor in a desolate room in a desolate hallway in a desolate building in a desolate campus in a desolate town in a desolate state.

But finding pitchers?? A little trickier.

First off, I’m not meeting any girls in my computer science program. That’s a given. That makes my recruiting pool the city of College Station and random summer students.

Great.

Everyone I’ve seen on the streets of College Station is at least 5 inches taller and 40 pounds heavier than my slight frame. And they’re usually with their Texan boyfriend who’s tall, blond, got Abercrombie and Fitch model looks, can bench their pickup truck and probably has a concealed weapon permit in their backpocket.

Amazing.

Everyone I’ve seen on campus is an exact replica of the people walking in the town since this
A Slice of Home...A Slice of Home...A Slice of Home...

...the New York Times...
is a stereotypical College town. The town is the school. The school is the town. The school has nothing. The town has nothing.

Fantastic.

And just when my dark humor was cackling in delight, I got a remedy…

An email from J-ZN…

She was due to reply to my kokuhaku…

I quickly scrolled through the clutter, as usual, and hit the meaty part. I was quivering in anticipation. Here it is…I’m going to finally get a break…

However, I don't think I am ready to take the relationship one step further... I like you too, but I think that "like" is more directed to you being a friend of mine...

But I really enjoyed hanging out with you and hope that this wouldn't do anything to change our friendship..? 😞

...don't be angry... or sad okay? Because nothing has changed technically 😊


I was dumbstruck.

Fuck.

Two rejections in two months and I’m stuck in a fucking town where I can’t even delude myself into thinking I have a chance with a girl.

I sat in front of my computer in my empty room for an hour trying
But I forgot...But I forgot...But I forgot...

...Texas is still stuck in 2006...
to find some hidden meaning in the words, or a hidden message, or something to keep me going.

Nothing.

A full out rejection. And by email no less.

I don’t remember if I cried but it didn’t matter because the tears would’ve evaporated immediately in the fucking heat for me to notice.

My life sucks. I gotta call the guy down the hall so I can borrow his “Concealed Weapon” and shoot myself in the fucking head.

He can have the key to the city.


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

9th June 2008

Consider the NRA?
You can't commit Suicide in Texas Gen, God's exists down there and he'll send you to hell. Maybe consider a hobby, most undersexed men in the south compensate for it by buying copious amounts of firearms (and then concealing them apparently) ...why don't you get a peice and let of some steam. Besides, you might be able to show off some o'dat' NY steez at the range...girls love a straight shooter.
13th June 2008

It seems like a good idea...
...but if I were to get arms, I'd rather get a fighter jet and enough fuel for one leg of the journey. Oh...and eternal love from the emperor
24th December 2009

LOL
Dude i been reading your blog while i work at my desk jocky job in NY no not the real NY the fake one on Longisland and i cant stop cracking up.
25th December 2009

re: justin
thanks...send me a PM if you want private access to my site

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb