Guatemala City... Again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
June 18th 2013
Published: June 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Supplies for the schoolSupplies for the schoolSupplies for the school

Two large moving boxes packed full of Montessori materials for the classes.
I added a lot of people to my blog subscription list. If you are receiving this blog and do not want to get it, then feel free to unsubscribe. My feelings won't be hurt.

So after planning and thinking about this trip for close to a year, it has finally come time to go.

Last summer I went to Guatemala City to volunteer at UPAVIM Montessori Children's Center which is a Montessori pre-school in in the impoverished La Esperanza area on the south side of Guatemala City. The school is funded and supported by UPAVIM which is a women's cooperative that sells fair trade Guatemalan crafts. (CLICK LINKS to find our more about the organization)

This is a sweet little school that serves poor students in a rough part of Guatemala City. The teachers are doing their best, but the sparse classroom materials are old, damaged, and/or incorrectly homemade. Until I arrived last summer it had been years since there was a Montessori supervisor to give these teachers direction in the Montessori method.

Today I am returning to the school for five weeks. I am sooo EXCITED!!! I raised funds through friends, family, and friends of family to buy new Montessori materials for the classroom and teach the teachers how to use them. I worked at Community Montessori School in Georgetown, TX during the last two months of the school year. A few parents and a teacher there donated funds and used (but still useable) Montessori materials that I couldn't afford. I'm bringing the all materials down in two large U-haul boxes and boy do I feel like Santa Claus! The anticipation is so much fun! Thanks to all the generous people who made this possible!

My job as a volunteer this summer will be to help refresh the teachers on Montessori lessons, guide them toward the new materials, and help them with the Montessori philosophy. These teachers have no access to a Montessori trainer, but as a trained Montessori teacher, I can help with professional development.

Advertisement



18th June 2013

wow, you go girl!
Thanks for including me in your updates, since I don't do FB etc. Will enjoy following your adventures, wherever you are. When you're in Austin next, lunch is on me. Hugs and hopes, j9
18th June 2013

On your way
And our hopes and best wishes travel with you...Good work that you are doing, Natanya!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb