Getting Excited


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Abilene
February 9th 2012
Published: April 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well folks, I will be off to Kenya here in about 700 hours! Can you say EXCITED????? Yes I am really excited

to be doing what the Lord wants me to. Am I nervous? Yes! Who wouldn't be? But it will be fine.

I have been to Kenya a number of times. The last one being last year in June. Wow! Did I ever have fun!

I was able to read to the orphans a book in their language Kenya Sign language (KSL). I work in the US

in a deaf education program, so that is where knowing the ASL (American Sign Language) comes in handy

while in Kenya. Their KSL is similiar to ours with some thing different. Having the background in ASL allowed

me to pick up some KSL varily quick. Watching the children watch me when I was reading the book was

really cool. Their eyes would get so big when I read of the Lion coming out from behind the couch!





Well if you read this blog, please be patient with me as this is the first one. Enjoy!





Kim

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb