The Music City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Nashville
June 19th 2010
Published: June 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Howdy y'all from Nashvegas! Leaving in a few hours for Memphis after being here in Nashville for the last 3 nights. Again, the city is great, the hostel is great and the people are great. I arrived at about 10pm on wednesday, to find about 20 people, mostly my age or in their twenties, scattered around the outside of the hostel drinking and making music. I don't think an hour has passed since I've been here where nobody has been playing music. Even downtown, every bar has live music all day every day until 3am, and none of them charge to get in. I've met a ton of cool people here, for some reason predominantly english or australian or dutch. I actually think I met the 1st english person since I've been in the US here, who also turned out to be vegetarian (and since I've met 2 more English vegetarians!). Since being here I've also discovered country music, which I must admit is actually pretty good. The standard for things like Open Mic nights or any live music in Nashville is ridiculously high, and everyone is very talented. So I don't forget, I'll note the top country albums I've been advised to check out -
Eric Church - Sinners like me
Keith Urban - Be Here
Brad Paisley - Fifth Gear/ Mud on the Tyres
Kenny Chesney's live album
Miranda Lambert
Crazy Hearts Soundtrack.

I'll upload the Nashville photos too so hopefully you will get a chance to see what it's like. Bye for now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



22nd June 2010

Signing on
Hey Jude, Looks like you're figuring it out. Keep up the good blogs and PLENTY of pictures, You DA Man! Best Mike (Go England)

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb