Music City Dance Championships - Nashville, TN


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Nashville
September 6th 2009
Published: December 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

In my spare time, I dance country-western. This isn't square dancing like many assume. Country Western encompasses Swing, Waltz, Two-Step, ChaCha, Polka, Line Dancing... and it's so much fun! Many of you would liken it to Ballroom dancing without *quite* as much of the money and fuss. The people are real and have a great time. 😊

Competitions are held all over the world, and even for non-competitors, they are fun-filled weekends of dance lessons and workshops, dancing all day and night, and seeing friends. I know dancers from all over the United States and Canada as a result of these events. It's fantastic! (My previous entry was about a 7 day dance cruise to Roatan, Belize, Cozumel, and Grand Cayman. So much fun!)

This particular weekend in September, I headed to Nashville for Music City Dance. It's so interesting how we travel so far for dancing sometimes as a dance community, and rarely make it outside of the convention center or hotel ballroom. Either way, what little I did experience of Nashville, makes me want to go back. I wish I'd had the opportunity to spend time in the bars/clubs that line the main strip. I was shocked how much live music came from everywhere... even during the day!

(As for the competition: I placed 1st/Overall Champion in Female Open Newcomer LineDance, and 2nd in Int/Adv JnJ West Coast Swing)


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 33; qc: 125; dbt: 0.1246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb