Memphis - Elvis and the civil rights


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Memphis
September 1st 2009
Published: September 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

memphis nightsmemphis nightsmemphis nights

from the rooftop
Arriving in Memphis I meet my newest couchsurfing host, Carolina. She picks me up from the station and takes me to her studio apartment. The next day is filled with downtown Memphis. Well, that was the plan. What I didn't take into account was the heat. On the other hand, sitting in a Memphis bar is not the worst thing in the world - be it night or day. Later the visit to the Civil Rights museum, situated in the hotel that bore witness of Martin Luther King's death, blows my mind. Amazingly done and so big and interesting that three hours are not nearly enough to get through it. After a pulled pork sandwich Carolina and me head towards the downtown bars for some music and drinks.

Graceland is definitely Memphis' biggest attraction and Elvis fans visit year round from all over the world. Crazy? Yes, a little. Impressing? Yes. Worth paying 30 dollars? Definitely - NOT. Well, I pay them anyways after taking a tour through the sun studios, the label that first produced an Elvis record and had contracts with many other stars. The Elvis mansion is, well, huge. After seeing everything from the waterfall in his
BealestreetBealestreetBealestreet

Drinks and music
living room to his racquetball court, his 50 cars and planes, I don't want to see or hear any more Elvis for the next weeks. This night I am not the only couchsurfer in Carolina's apartment, as Patrick, a medicine student on his way to an exam, is staying there as well. Deciding that he too has to see some Memphis nightlife, the three of us head to a bar for some beers.

Here a note for those of you who should wonder (and I know there are some out there): The entries on this blog are in chronological order, I am just a little behind with writing them. In other words, I am not in Tennessee anymore. So, be patient and sooner or later the blog will be up to date again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Big Ass BeerBig Ass Beer
Big Ass Beer

hell yeah


Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb