An Unexpected Great Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Chattanooga
January 18th 2013
Published: January 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Got up about 7:30 had coffee, walked Oscar and called the rv place to see if they could install a new tv. They could get er done sometime today. I talked to my neighbor at the rv park and he said he would put it in for me tonight. Great, so off I went to Wally World again, bought a flat screen and a wall bracket and was back in a flash since I had the car and didn’t have to unhook everything and secure the interior. Terrific to have a car!



Since I had the whole day and it was BEAUTIFUL out I decided to see Lookout Mt. We arrived about 11:30, bought a 3 attraction pass and headed for the Enchanted Gardens, which is part of Rock City. Oscar was welcome so we headed down the path surrounded by giant boulders, soft music, tall trees and moss. I found my pace slow down, my mind calm and a big smile on my face. Truly an Enchanted Garden. There were paths through boulder walls, gardens and then the view. You could see 7 states and maybe more than that. To top it off there was a waterfall at the top that made a dramatic drop from the edge of the mountain. Pictures.

Oscar had a lot of exercise and seemed to enjoy the experience until we went down a steep, dark pathway with lots of steps. I had to tug on the poor boy but I wasn’t about to carry him. He finally came along and we found the exit and made it to the car 2 hours after starting.



Then it was off to the incline rail. Could have done without doing that. Ride the car down the mt, wait 20 min and ride it back up again. Oscar slept in the car.



Our next experience was fascinating. Ruby Falls was part of the triple play ticket, I had no idea what to expect. It was a guided tour and Oscar got to rest in the car again. We loaded the elevator and descended 260 ft into Lookout Mt. and made our way through caves, caverns and squeezing passages. The highlight of the trip was an underground waterfall. Ruby falls is the tallest and deepest underground waterfall open to the public, 1120 ft. underground. We are allowed to view the falls for 7 min while a light show changes the colors and feel of the experience. Pictures

The tour was a mile walk through the caverns and by the time we were finished, so was I.



Got back to the car, fed Oscar and headed home through the Chattanooga rush hour.

My neighbor came over and took out the old tv and hooked up the new one. Wow, what a picture it has.



I made dinner, dragged Oscar out for his final walk and settled in for the night looking at the new tv.



It’s now 11pm and I can’t wait to get to bed. Good night


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



20th January 2013

Looks wonderful
Wish I was there for that!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb