South Dakota: In Which the Author heads for the National Grasslands...


Advertisement
Published: July 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Day 1/2: MN. rest stop to Pierre S.D.

12 hours after leaving Chicago (driving plus 2 hour nap in southern Mn.), I drove to Mitchell to see the Corn Palace, swam in the Missouri river near the Lewis and Clark site, and drove up into the National Grasslands, approx. 20 miles south of Pierre

Additional maps: Rest stop to Grasslands

Day 2: Monday July 27th: Sioux Falls, South Dakota:

Highlights: Mitchell Corn Palace, Wall Drug, National Grasslands camping, Badlands National Park (camping entries to follow—I’m currently adding this blog in Wall Drugs, having left the campsite this morning. I’m charging the battery of the computer while I type…)

Leaving the neutral-friendly town of Sioux Falls (it has the flavor of many Midwestern towns), it was back on interstate I-90 heading west. Sophie (the dog) and I (the human) drive west, leaving Sioux Falls and its yearly air show behind. We drive 70 miles, at 70 m.p.h., passing humorous signs, such as: Dick’s Toe Service, Auto Shoppe, Town Auto Service—For all your drive train needs (It makes me wonder—could there be any “drive train need” other than: It’s broke, so fix it, dammit!), Wall Drug Store signs (100s of them, painted in “retro” lettering that reminds me of the “See Rock City” signs that are seen down south, near Tennessee) that have become a recognizable landmark in themselves, and have a 60s “flair” to them. This “western kitch,” along with many other examples of tourist “traps,” at least have some science/educational purpose to them (for instance the 1880s
“western town,” build for a Cliff Roberts’ movie, etc.).

Other than the signs, the small, small towns along I-90 have little more than basic services (no tall buildings, condos, or even strip malls). In a way, it’s refreshing, and with the wind blowing through the car, very relaxing.

The first of the “must stops” is the Corn Palace, located in Mitchell, S.D. This 1882 landmark has been a visual favorite of mine, stemming from the Corn Palace postcards from the 1940s in my postcard collection. The outside of the theater building, entry, to which is free, is decorated with corn and hay, with the scenes and themes changing each year. The surrounding blocks have “gem and leather” and t-shirt stores. The Corn Palace is about 5 miles north of the interstate, but is worth the trip. I bought my own postcards (usually the only souvenirs that I purchase) and mailed one to Shade, our black cat back home. One thing about the afternoon, and the plains and badlands in general, is that it is incredibly hot. My eyes squint, even though I’m wearing sun glasses. Of course, not having real access to the materials in the back of the truck (without spending time pulling and looking through the bins) the sun block is buried way in the front (along with my toothbrush and clean shirts, etc.). Well, it is the west, so I might as well stink like a cowboy.

Back on the road, it’s only a short distance (100 miles) to my second night on the road: Fort Pierre National Grasslands. Like the U.S. National Forest system, the National Grasslands are free and accessible to all. The jaunt is interrupted by the welcomed crossing of the Missouri River, a welcome site and the true and definable dividing point between the plains and the foothills. The area is famous for the 1804/05 Lewis and Clark exhibition, in which the two explorers, along with Sacagawea (the chick on the dollar coin), stopped at many points along the river. It is a beautiful site, full of developments and hotels/resorts along the riverbanks and is near the town of Chamberlain. The brutal heat encourages Sophie and I to stop for a swim, which we are able to do from a boat landing on the western bank of the river. Walking through the clouds of jumping Mayflies, Sophie and I, in full clothing, hit the cool water. She fetches the stick a few times, then it’s back to the truck for the remaining 50 miles to route 83, south of the state capital, Pierre.

From exit 201, past the small town of Vivian, I see a long stretch of dirt road rising through the foothills. Opting for this route, I drive through the town and up the dirt road. According to the map, the Fort Pierre National Grasslands are at least 25 miles from north to south and at least 20 miles wide. I drive 10 miles, witnessing green grass and wheat on both sides of the road. Dust plumes billow behind me and I am surprised to see barbed wire fences, farms and cows off each side and in the distance. Another pick-up truck drives towards me, so I pull over and flag down the driver. Thinking that I might actually be traveling through private lands, I ask the man, who looks like a weathered Barney Rubble, “Where is the National Grasslands?”
“Well, this is all National Grasslands.”
“So, you guys get to farm on it?” I ask.
“We raise cattle,” he
Sophie and me at the Corn PalaceSophie and me at the Corn PalaceSophie and me at the Corn Palace

Mitchell, South Dakota
responds.
I tell him that I want to camp this night, just to say that I’ve done it. He directs me about 5-6 more miles and says, “It’s real nice up there.”
It wasn’t until the man left that I realize that he was probably a Native American, as the Crow Creek Indian Reservation joins the National Grasslands. I missed out on the opportunity to capture his history and photograph “for the blog.”

I park right along side of the dirt road on a ridge. Rolling grasslands surround me, and I set up the tent and get to the process of organizing the back of the truck cab (twice), gathering materials needed, looking for batteries for the camera, grabbing a long sleeve shirt, and getting ready to make my dinner. Before anything, however, I sit on my Tot Spot, a child’s chair (small and easy to travel with) and drink a Miller High Life beer (I have a case of 30 ($12.99) in case of emergencies). After the second one, I glance at the phone’s time and realize that it’s 5:30 on Sunday evening, only 24 hours since I had left Chicago. It’s amazing to have seen and done so much in such a short amount of time…from Chicago to the middle of South Dakota in only 1 day…

Upcoming (as Sophie’s in the car and the early morning sun is heating up, plus I’ve stolen enough power from Wall Drug to full charge the computer) blogs: National Grasslands, Pt. 2: The Storm…

Random facts:
Number of cops seen: 1
Dead animals: 2 deer, 5 porcupines
Strangest sight seen: 2 bicyclists heading west on the interstate—very hardcore!
Music listened to: Mostly Dylan



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Missouri River bridgeMissouri River bridge
Missouri River bridge

Gateway to the foothills
Beer locationBeer location
Beer location

Staying in the shade was a must!


28th July 2009

You (the human)
You (the human) are putting together a pretty good blog. Great details and enviable statistics, although I can beat you for road-kill sightings any day. We're having a bumper crop of armadillos this year.
29th July 2009

Hi again
Hey Dave, this part of your trip seems a bit "corny" don't you think - ha ha. It looks like a lot of fun from here. Take care and stay safe

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb