A new dwelling


Advertisement
Published: October 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, after 30 years of existence I have finally managed to fulfill a life long dream….be able to ride my pushy for a surf check!

So as you can see my new pad is spectacular. A raised back deck oversees the back yard equipped with a dock and canoes right on the river. The “surf” is only a 5 min bike ride away although as you can see from the photo the “surf” isn’t always as big as I would like. Although it is incredibly cool to be able to ride my bike the length of the beach at low tide instead of taking on the rather lazy traffic that snakes its way around folly beach. Ive attached some glorious surroundings that make up Folly Beach which again is now within a 10 min bike ride from my new pad.

How on earth did I find such a gem? Craigslist…….way too easy…… right place right time I guess!

There has been a very interesting debate here recently regarding the US Military’s position on gays and lesbians serving openly in the military. As it stands if you are openly homosexual this provides grounds for the military to release you from its ranks. However the military are not permitted to enquire about one of their service peoples sexuality and so if you are homosexual you can serve in the military as long as you don’t openly admit to it. Hence the policy referred to as “Don’t Ask - Don’t Tell”.
Astounding to me in this day and age that such a policy of ignorance exists but the wheels are in (all be it slow) motion to rid this country of such a ridiculous official government policy.

Some fun things to look forward to include the horse races at The Carolina Cup, Halloween which is an ENORMOUS deal here where I will be dressing up as Mick Dundee (how can I not!), perhaps a “surf trip” to florida to take advantage of the last remnants of warm water before the frigid waters of winter arrive and maybe if my damaged heel recovers a lazy 42 km run in early December just cos I can!

Otherwise have fun keep smiling and enjoy where ever you might be!

Take care

Simo




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0796s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb