Doing the Charleston shuffle


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Charleston


Additional maps: ramble round Charleston

Gone with the windGone with the windGone with the wind

lots of very expensive houses like this in charleston....
08:15hrs and the 16 hours are over, and the greyhound dumps me at what looks like a roadside shack. Welcome to charleston greyhound station..... A staggering 100m within the city limits and 8 miles from where I need to be. Taxi!! What a taxi driver tho.. A black ex navy ghanian Jew...oi vey what a mix.

The NotsoHostel was right on the edge of downtown charleston and was a typical wood boarded wide verandered house. The nice people there let me dump my stuff and sleep before the check in time of 5pm, a sweaty 8 hours away. Yes charleston is like a good woman... Hot and wet.

The whole point of coming here tho was to see my kids, as my ex was in the area visiting her old employers. My original plan was to see them on my daughter's birthday but I was denied this because the people she was staying with didn't want me at their house and they had arranged a big party for her so it would all be to difficult... To say I was upset and angry at being prevented from seeing my daughter on her birthday by someone who had no right
very posh...very posh...very posh...

tis very much the case of my house is bigger than yours in historic Charleston
stopping me is a understatment and a half. The downright sanctimonious hypocritical crassness of it. Guess the decade of helping look after her kids counts for nothing. I'm thinking of a word... And it rhymes with punts.

Still charleston is a beautiful place, laid back, friendly and full of history, a rarity in USA. I did get to see my kids tho. They were brought up to charleston and I had them for 8 hours...I made the most of it and savoured every minute knowing it would be another 4 weeks before I saw them again. Saying goodbye was very hard.

But I got to spend time with my mate Kerry and her partner, driving up from Florida to NY. Seeing them helped lift my mood a lot.

The rest of the stay was spent walking around the town, I was averaging 8 miles a day, and chatting with people in the hostel. One guy in my room had seen and done everything and by going on just the things he had done I put his age at 140.

And then yet again it was time to head off, to an airport for my flight to
A big boatA big boatA big boat

Its a boat and it carries aircraft.... must be an aircraft carrier then
vegas.... Well 3 days in a coach didn't sound too appealing. And it was cheaper... All the more to spend on the tables......





Later that week I got to hang out with my mate Kerry and her partner and her dad (2seperate people, she might be half American but she's no inbred:-p ) we did the horse tour and sat in a bar with a beer. Tis weird to meet someone I know from the uk mid travels but after the sadness over my kids a welcome boost to my mood.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



10th August 2008

Some things are worth their weight...
Truly echoed here .. Sound like another egotistical American trying to pawn the rules of engagement to the so called 'Allied' Brits eh? .. Still, least you did get to see those that hold so dear in the heart. Seems that for a split second there, we saw the man that is Keeps, be a man and lay down his feelings as they should be.. We welcome you to the world that is sadistic in every way of the word. Chin up matey, 4 weeks isn't that long and, as a bonus you'll be back on friendly 'we won't shoot you but knife you instead' soil..

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb