Anticipation


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
January 9th 2011
Published: January 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So I'm down to one more day......I can't believe I'm actually leaving tomorrow. I remember the day I got into SAS. It was the beginning of July and I was working at my summer internship. I remember going home and getting a letter that said I was accepted. After that it has been a crazy up and down rollercoaster. The planning itself has been a complete nightmare. The paperwork and medical forms alone almost convinced me not to go...not to mention the price lol. Anyways, 7 months later, I am sitting here writing this and in shock that tomorrow I will be embarking on a once in a lifetime opportunity to see most of the world. After this trip I will have been to every continent except Antartica, which is way too exciting to put into words!!! Obviously I have been telling a lot of people where I am going and I get very mixed reactions. The other day I was in Payless buying shoes for my trip. I bought these Tom-like shoes and the woman helping me asked where I was going. I told her India and she kinda paused and looked at me like I was crazy. She said "You could not pay me enough money to go to India....that is the scariest place and I have no interest in learning anything about it". I was in complete shock! I can't believe people don't want to travel and learn about cultures other than their own.....especially if money wasn't a factor! I think after this trip I am going to have some negative feelings towards the US, because sometimes some people I meet are so ignorant about other cultures. Well at least that is how most of my friends who have studied abroad told me they felt after returning. But other than the angsty payless woman, many people (like all of you 30 subscribers) are very excited to hear about my adventures from the safety of your home computer lol! Packing has been terrible. When they say "just bring the essentials", did they really mean just bring your life, but make sure it fits in a 50 lb bag? I am allowed to bring 2, 50 lb bags actually and a backpack/carry on. But with the temperature differences and various activities I will be participating in, I really have no idea what I will need. For those of you who have seen my previous blog entry called "the ship", then you know that my living space is very tiny!!! But I offically have finalized piles and will be packing up my duffels tonight. We are leaving really early tomorrow morning for the Bahamas. I think my flight is at 8:00 and I have a 2 hour layover in Orlando....so I probably won't get to the Bahamas until 3 or 4. Iv'e never been to the Bahamas so I'm really excited to check it out.....not to mention soak in the 77 degree weather....yessss!!!! Yesterday I looked out the window at all the snow and I couldn't believe that by Monday night I would be in shorts and on a beach....freaky!!! Anyways, the next time I write I'll be in the Bahamas or ON THE BOAT.....ahhhhh!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb