South street and daves and busters


Advertisement
Published: May 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I am nearing the end of my stay with Kayla and Brown bear. And in commiseration or perhaps celebration, we went back into Philadelphia. To visit one of my favourite places. But first we travelled to south street. This street can only be described as eclectic, and wonderfully bohemian. It's a great street to just people watch, from antique shops selling cupboards of taxidermy to Rastafarian inspired tobacco shops. I couldn't help but think of both Gabi and Ruth, knowing they would love this street. There were also comic book and record stores, so my inner geek squealed in delight. Shockingly though there were a rather inordinate number of sex shops including Condom Kingdom..... I was surprised by the blatancy of it all, vibrators in shop windows, as well as other overt sexual items. The shop fronts also mirrored the nature of the street, with elaborate fronts, including one with giants ants coming out of a zipper. Not sure how they come up with this stuff.



Following my wandering and people watching. We continued to Dave and Busters an elaborate arcade and eatery. My idea of heaven, for 20 bucks, you get 100 credits to use on lots of arcade machines, from skeeball, to racing games. With some of the arcades rewarding your efforts with vouchers, to be redeemed against a moustache comb. Though the top prize was an Xbox 360 for 49,000 tickets. To get that many tickets you would have to spend well over the retail price for it. We all seemed to have our games, brown bear was drawn to the shooting games, Kayla loved some game called fruit ninja, which was a touch screen game in which you cut pieces of fruit while avoiding the bombs that appeared randomly on your cutting board. I like my racing games, from the Harley davidson with over sensitive steering, to the superbikes where you lean, to mariokart and even NASCAR. The latter being the one where I got to drive into the Kayla and brown bear, agitating Kayla who kept blaming brown bear. Kayla's competitiveness was very apparent, as was her increasing agitation at losing at everything. Well me and brown bear couldn't let her win right?? Though Kayla's crowning glory was a spin on the wheel which won us 500 tickets, that feat of pure luck, her achievement of the night, though I must also mention her superiority on the fruit slicing game.



We descended to the winning circle with 2,700 odd tickets. Aware of the fact that brown bears kids are coming next week was going to save some vouchers for the kids, but Kayla unable to ever cash in vouchers before because of said children, got a basketball. I picked a d&b glass, and mug, to commemorate my visit and also as a lasting reminder, that I beat Kayla so many times.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb