Now THIS is how you start a trip!


Advertisement
Published: July 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

This place rocks
The trip has gone like clockwork so far. We managed to get everything wrapped up before we departed and actually got on the road not on time - but EARLY. For those of you who know me well, you know that's a miracle.

Closing the business down today was a big help and allowed us to wake and concentrate on our plans. Aside from the one client who has called literally 6 .. wait.. ring ring..make that 7 times this morning (apparently she's not believing our message that says we have NO ACCESS TO VOICE OR EMAIL), things have been quiet.

Completing US Air's web check in online last night was a huge help. We didn't have to wait at the kiosks at all but simply got in line to check out bags: in and out in a few minutes.

I recently got a US Air miles card and I can say its been great so far. We already have a ton of miles saved up for our trip to Italy next year and I keep wracking them up wherever I'm able. One of the perks that came with the card was a day pass to the US
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Mike enjoying his free trail mix.
Air Club inside the airport. So far, we are quite impressed.

Mike was happy with the free coffee and trail mix. I was happy that I got a cup of good ol' fashion Flavia coffee that quickly harkened me back to my IKON days and, while shuddering at the thought, the sweet smell of Flavia flavored coffee filled the air and let me know all was ok. Flavia coupled with some Milano cookies and I realized, "now this is how to start a trip."

The US Air Club offer free wifi, tv, very comfortable seating (I am now a bit ruined for those airport connected chairs), free snacks and drinks and even work stations if you need. All they need are some of those massage chairs and I may end up here for the trip.

Provided we don't get so comfortable that we miss our flight (not a good sign that I dreamed we missed our flight 2 days ago!), we'll be boarding in about an hour. The 8-hour flight will take us through the night so we are hoping to be able to get some sleep and arrive in time for a cafe breakfast in Madrid
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

The US Air Club is agreeable to us.
before our afternoon siesta. From what I understand, night life in Spain doesn't begin until Midnight so the afternoon siesta is apparently a cultural "must".


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

Looking all business like


30th July 2010

Now that's a way to start a vacation.
Looks like your on your way to rest, romance and relaxation. Enjoy!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb