The Amish


Advertisement
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I recently spent time within the Amish community and found their way of life very refreshing. They are an extremely hardworking people who teach their children the values and morals which I beleive are slowing being lost within other areas of the eastern part of the United States. Until our class last week I believed that the Amish people were a rarity in the United States, but I am coming to think that the rest of the people within the eastern United States might just be the rarity. We spoke much about the rural midwest states and the reference to them as the "Bible Belt", last week in my World History class. The Amish people like the midwesterns are very religious and have a strong belief in God. I wonder if there is any correlation beween the crime rate within the inner city of Philadelphia(more people died two weeks ago in Philadelphia than in the war) and the lack of religious beliefs, and the lack of crime within the Amish community and the strong belief in God.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb