F.A.Q. (The End)


Advertisement
Published: March 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Are you happy you did it?
Moria: Absolutely. It was an excellent way to spend six months, and the lessons I learned were priceless.
Kate: Yes, of course.

Do you have any regrets?
Moria: Nope.
Kate: I regret not doing yoga in India. Who knows when I will have the chance again?

What was your favorite place/country?
Moria: We can't choose one. Sorry. We can't even choose a favorite country from each region. They each have something unique to offer.
Kate: I concur.

Did you get on each other's nerves?
Moria: Yes, all the time. We got into a few big fights, most of which were mentioned in previous posts. We frequently snapped at each other too, but when you're traveling with someone for six months, you learn to get over things within a 15-minute time frame, so the rest of your travels will be enjoyable. We're still friends, though we're not dying to see each other every single day for the rest of our lives.
Kate: Obviously.

Did you ever feel you were in danger?
Moria: I remember thinking "I could die right now" a few times during the trip, but I can't recall all the instances. My first ride on the back of a motorbike was stressful. Drunkenly swinging from ropes in Laos probably wasn't very bright. Kate definitely felt we were in danger on some bus rides, but I slept through them.
Kate: Moria is a liar when she says she only thought she would die a few times. She must have said, "I/We am/are going to die" every other day for six months. She did not even think that we would make it to Christmas. I am less dramatic. The two near-death moments for me were the bus rides from Bangalore to Pondicherry in India and Villazon to La Paz in Bolivia. Those were frightening.

What was the most disgusting or disturbing thing you saw?
Moria: The most disgusting thing probably came from an animal. The amount of unneutered animals in the world is disturbing and leads to large body parts (nipples, testicles, etc.). I don't know if the elephant we saw in Thailand on our second trek was neutered (I doubt it), but watching her pee/poop tested my stomach, and I'm pretty tough. There are a few other animal interactions I could mention, but Kate would yell at me because they'd make her puke, so I'll tell you in person one day. As far as disturbing sights, the possible child prostitution in Cambodia shook me up, as did the little boy spitting on and kicking a little puppy on Easter Island. I yelled at the little boy, so I tried to do my part. I didn't say anything to the sketchy older dudes with the young women, though Kate and I DID stare.
Kate: I saw a 4 or 5 year old boy lift up his mother's shirt and start suckling it in Peru. I know it is only natural, but it was gross. I was also disgusted with Jack Johnson. I don't understand why everyone around the world has to listen to him. I never want to hear him again.

Did you kiss anyone, score, fall in love, etc.?
Moria: What happens on the road stays on the road.
Kate: I can neither confirm or deny it.

Did you stick to your budget?
Moria: I went slightly over. Not by much when you look at the big picture, but I still went over what I expected to spend.
Kate: I went over. Not by much, but definitely in loads of debt. If you have a job that you think I would be interested in, please let me know.

Did you get homesick?
Moria: Not in the manner I expected to do so. Sometimes days seemed to drag, and the trip seemed like a (beautiful, adventurous) prison sentence. Other days I checked the date and was amazed how quickly time had flown by. In the beginning of the trip, I had a few dreams about home and would wake up with a little pang of longing, but that was it. I was ready to come home at the end though. Mos def.
Kate: By month 5 of traveling, I was tired of it. Being away for well over a year and missing out on things really started to get to me.

Is it weird to be home?
Moria: Not as weird as I thought it might be. Somehow landing in the States made the past 6 months seem surreal, almost like they didn't even happen. I did find a few things weird on my first day: free toilet paper in public bathrooms, seeing black people again, being able to charge small items to a credit card, etc.
Kate: It is difficult for me to put toilet paper in the toilet. Having a refrigerator is also strange for me. I am glad to be back though and should be here through June. I cannot promise anything after that.

Will you do it again?
Moria: Tough one. If I won the lottery, possibly. If I retired with lots of money, maybe. Traveling for an extended period of time is definitely valuable, but six months is a big chunk.
Kate: Yes. I am a travel addict.

Where will you go next?
Moria: Of the places I've never been, I'd love to visit Africa, and both Kate and I agree that a Nepal/Tibet trip would be lovely. I love Spanish-speaking countries, so Mexico or Central America would be awesome.
Kate: Dublin, Ireland, June 15, 2007, for graduation.


Thanks for reading! We appreciated your support and lived off the knowledge that our friends and family cared about what we were doing. Sometimes we moaned about having to update the blog, but it was a great way to record the experience, and we're already having fun rereading the older entries. Hope to see you soon.

Advertisement



29th March 2007

welcome home. I will be sad not to be getting updates anymore. Although I don't know you, I enjoyed reading about your trip - you write very funny little stories about what happens to you.
29th March 2007

home already?
That seemed to fly by so fast - I need more updates! When's the next trip!!?!
29th March 2007

The people we met along the way.
I would also like to add that the people we met, stayed with and had the pleasure of their company were fantastic. It is very difficult to pick a favorite but we were extremely lucky to meet such terrific people. The only thing I can say for sure is Dr. Chris was definitely the cutest.
30th March 2007

black people
Are there really no black people around the world? Also, Why didnt you both beat the crap out of that kid on Easter Island? ***hole. Puppy beating ***hole.
31st March 2007

I would like to say that there were black people in every country we went to. But there were not many. I guess it is like seeing white people too. There were not too many of them either. Just the travelers. The US has a lot of everything all at once.

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 72; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb