Midtown Scholar


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Bucks County
September 13th 2011
Published: September 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

On the way home from our camping trip to Allegheny National Forest, we pulled off at a rest area for the usual bathroom break and snack re-stock. Rest stops like these always always have one of those twirly stands with pamphlets for other attractions in the area. While I was waiting for everyone else...I browsed the pamphlets and grabbed one that really stood out to me labeled BOOKS!! It turned out to be an advertisement for a book store in Harrisburg called Midtown Scholar.
http://www.midtownscholar.com/


Later on I looked it up and saw pictures and decided that I HAD to make a trip there. The place sells used and rare books....like...a shit load of them. It's a pretty huge building for a book store and used to be an old theater so it looks pretty neat inside. I was pretty into this place just by looking at their website and the video of the owner really sold it to me especially because he said that the presence of the store really revitalized the area that was otherwise pretty down trodden.

Well, Yesterday I dragged my friend Natasha along (Also a book lover) and we took a little roadtrip
Midtown Scholar
A little glimpse of the interiorto Harrisburg! The store was beautiful and had a TON of books....but Natasha and I were both a little disappointed in the selection for our tastes. I was little upset that their travel literature section was so small...but still was able to pull two good books out of the selection. If you love classics...the store does have a pretty great selection of famous writers. Overall, it was a really neat place to walk around...and getting to see all of the rare books locked up with pad locks in glass cases was pretty cool. I would say that the 5+ hour trip all together that we took to get to the store was not really worth it! However, if you are a book lover like us....I would for sure say to make the trip....but maybe plan some other things to do around Harrisburg or the surrounding area to make the drive a little more rewarding!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb