Belated Thank You


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Bucks County
September 1st 2011
Published: September 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I made it home to PA two weeks ago, and it's been wonderfully relaxing spending time with my family (new and old) and friends. I'm seeing my hometown in two ways at once - it's as if I never left, but also as if I'm in another foreign country.

In the past when I've come home from abroad, I'd thought someone had hit a giant Staples' easy button. But this time, after much more time adjusting to the expat life, the readjustment is more difficult than I expected.

As soon as I got here I felt more relaxed - I think peoples' energies are just contagious that way. But I've gotten so used to not understanding most things that, rather than English making life easier, suddenly daily life has become an information overload. I've caught myself tuning out cashiers while looking them right in the eye and missing the transaction. A little embarrassing.

The other thing that keeps jumping out at me is how colonial everything seems in Bucks County. The sturdy brick buildings, porches and quaint scenery are just how I left them, but somehow a little different. I can only hope it's because I'm a little different now, more grown up I hope?

But, getting to my main point, I just want to thank everyone for reading about my travels and silly reflections this year. I've really enjoyed writing about Japan and being able to share this part of my life with all of you.

So,

THANK YOU!!

Advertisement



21st September 2011

Thank you!!
I want to say thank you as well. You have provided us with a unique window into Japanese culture and your own experiences. Dad

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb