The Start Of It All


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Bloomsburg
February 14th 2014
Published: May 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I guess I should start this blogging experience by introducing myself a little and explaining to you all why I started this blog. Bare with me…



So, my name is Bradley Krisanits I’m from a small town in Pennsylvania called Orangeville, literally one of those mile long towns with no stoplights and a Barber Shop on the corner. It’s a beautiful place though and my hometown so I got to love it! I graduated high school from Central Columbia (Bloomsburg, PA) in 2011 and I’m currently going for my Bachelors in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology at Lebanon Valley College in Annville, PA. Obviously being American and from a small town I never traveled a lot, a few places in the states, but besides that I was your typical hometown dweller, with minimal desires to travel and leave my comfort zone.



When I started my freshmen year at LVC I was introduced to study abroad. I was hooked form the start, studying in a foreign country for a semester and seeing the world. I was young, adventurous with a new sense of independence (at least I thought it was independence, little did I know that level of independence was going to change drastically) I was excited for this new experience and I wanted to do it so bad! I had options; England, Italy, Greece, Australia, New Zealand, which one to chose?! It was a great feeling to be able to look at the programs and just think wow I can go here or go here, a great start to a great experience.



Making my decision I kicked out any locations that involved learning a new language (I’m not the best at learning new languages, at least I thought). I was left with England, Australia or New Zealand, now what to do? I figured then everyone does England, plus I needed to take a major class offered only in New Zealand and Australia. So I was down to two…



Australia or New Zealand, which one would be the one I pick. Australia was always a place on my bucket list, mostly because of images I’ve seen. New Zealand on the other hand I knew little about, besides of course Lord of the Rings. 😊 New Zealand seemed so much more unexplored, natural and unexplored. It seemed unique and I wanted to see unique. Plus there, unlike Australia, there’s not a bunch of animals trying to kill me, which is a plus! In fact an interesting Kiwi I met in Rotorua said it the best “The most dangerous thing New Zealand has is humans.” So New Zealand was looking like a better option more and more for me. Finally after realizing friends of mine were going the same semester I was looking to go to New Zealand and the financial difference between the two places, I finally choose… New Zealand was the place I would spend my Spring Semester of my junior year!



4.5 months, February to June, I was going to live in another country, out of my comfort zone exploring the world and finding myself along the way. Now a month away from leaving New Zealand the changed person I’ve become, I decided to share my experiences with you and bring you into my travels of then and now and hopefully tomorrow.



-The Time We Have

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb