PCT days 12-14


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Sisters
August 19th 2012
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 12 was spent in Sisters, did laundry, recharged ipad, and ate non-dehyradted food! Found place to camp a mile outside of town.Day13 started out on HWY 242, stopped at Coldwater Spring CG, could not find trailhead. Kept walking until saw sign for Scott Pass TH. Took that road and basically hiked 8 miles uphill until I could no more. Am way out in wilderness, maybe more isolated geographically than ever. Hoping road leads me to instersect trail real soon.Day 14 this road I'd been on since noonish yesterday led me back to Sisters....so spent two days and about 20 miles of wasted effort attemptong to locate trailhead. has reminded me of the frustrations often found in travel. one of the many things about travelling i like is the necessity often found to figure oneself out of a jam. I was never really lost these two days, for had I retraced my path, it would have led me back to 242. Which is where i need to head back to later today (after avoiding brunt of day's heat), and hopefully find the elusive entry point. Last night my campsite was the fuethest away feom anyone that I can think of . Though it was only four miles west of Sisters and nine miles up a fire road, it would have taken a long time to find me. I think my favorite sensory input so far is e sound of the wind through the trees.....Passed 100 miles today~

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb