Not A Mom and Pop Business


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » Oklahoma City
October 17th 2009
Published: October 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ok, I promised that in the next update I would reveal the coolest attraction on the Springfield to Oklahoma City run. It actually was quite unexpected. Kind of that feeling when you think you have spent all of your money, then you find a twenty hiding in another pocket. We pulled into Arcadia to see the Round Barn to snap a few photographs, then drove west into the sunset. As soon as we began to accelerate Misti and I noticed something in the distance. I could not tell for sure, but it appeared to be metal slats in the shape of a coke bottle. Then off to the left I noticed steel trusses reaching out towards the bottle. As we neared it, I realized it was a gas station, but with typical Route 66 marketing. It just had that magnetic pull. The enormous soda bottle shape of cylindrical lights constantly transforming colors to create the illusion of a soda bubble floating to the top ensures you will drive off the road. The gigantic space station like structure ensures it will be in their parking lot. We tried not to run anyone over while turning in. As I stepped out of the car, I immediately began walking somewhat like a zombie towards the huge scaffolding structure of a gas station. "It is brilliant" I said. No signs telling you the name of the place, what they sell, or how much a gallon of gas is. In fact, I was unaware of the name of the business until I reached the door. "Pops". Misti and I walked in and were immediately greeted by walls of soda bottles, in every color, from everywhere. The maitre d then asked if we would be eating, and how many. Misti and I looked at each other and with a mutual understanding look that we had to eat sometime said, "uh, two". We were seated next to the wall which was constructed of glass slats, and filled with every kind of soda imaginable, floor to ceiling. As I peered across the gas/space station, I noticed a gift shop in front of coolers filled with the cold versions of everything on the walls. "It is absolutely brilliant", I kept saying. "You can not help but pull into this store to see what it is all about... and once you are in here, you spend way more money than you originally intended, on things you never knew you needed". I found a brochure and began to read. 500 of the best soda flavors on earth is what the business is structured around. There are soda bottle carrying cases to ensure easy acquisition of multiple selection of pop. Then if you decide you need gas or other typical convenience store offerings, well, its like the Pops t-shirts read, "Food, Fuel, Fizz". Perhaps the only sad note about all of this is that it takes so much capital to attract customers these days. The up side is like the "Field of Dreams", it was built in the middle of nowhere, but they came.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

PopsPops
Pops

Space age gas pump. Cosmic man!


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb