Road Trip to Ohio


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Wadsworth
March 16th 2009
Published: March 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I suppose, I was technically in Sharon Centre (outside of Wadsworth) but all the small little towns surround each other 😉

This past weekend I took a road trip to visit Miss Alisa - one of the teachers I worked with in Honduras, and someone who has grown to become one of my closest friends. It had been over a year since I had seen her last, when she journeyed to Niagara Falls, and we spent a weekend being tourists and stayed with my grandparents. This time it was my turn to drive the longer distance and so we picked a weekend that worked for both of us and I prayed that my "Rosie" wouldn't break down at the side of the road at any point in my journey.

I left Friday morning after work (11:30am) and made it to Alisa's Mom's house around 6pm. The drive was fine (I didn't get lost once!) except for the 45 minute wait at the border, as I'm assuming everyone was heading over for March Break. I also didn't really enjoy the sketchy bar in Buffalo where I stopped to pee, but after sitting at the border for the 45 mins, I just pulled off the first exit and found what I could!

It was GREAT to see Alisa. It didn't feel like it had been over a year, but her and I talk on a regular basis, so we were well up-to-date with recent happenings in each other's lives. Lees' mom was a hoot - showing me the barn with all the animals. She made us tamale pie for dinner (it was gooood!) and we spent the evening chatting.

Saturday Lees took me to her favourite store (World Market) which was a huge store with a variety of goods from other countries. There were beautiful silk pillows from India, jewelery from Africa, and candies from Europe! We then went to the theatre to see 'Slumdog Millionaire' which was a great movie!

In the afternoon, we met up with Alisa's friend Jess (and met her boyfriend- Agusto- who came to the States from Nicaragua), then Jess, Alisa, and I went for a long hike around one of their State Parks. Beautiful trails and was an enjoyable walk. Weather was so perfect this weekend!

After the walk we went back to Alisa's for her mom's homemade noodles (so good!)
Charlie and I Charlie and I Charlie and I

On Lees' mom's farm!
as well as Puerto Rican chicken and a salad that Lees and I prepared. We had a nice dinner with her mom and friends of the fam, then headed out for a night on the town (neighbouring city) with a few of her friends. Jess and Agusto were there, as well as Jess' brothers and friends. We also met up with Lees' friend Michelle - whom I had previously met when she came to visit Lees in Honduras, so that was cool to see her again. We had an enjoyable evening out with drinks and dancing, then Lees and I returned home for a late night snack of more homemade noodles, and more chit-chatting before bed.

Sunday Lees took me to this place called Swenson's for lunch. There is no inside to the restaurant. You simply pull up and turn on your lights for service, then they run out to your car to take your order and place a tray on your car window. SO fun! We had a yummy lunch then took a short trip to Old Navy while we waited for AAA to come bail my keys out of my locked car (oops!!) then I was heading
Singing in my CarSinging in my CarSinging in my Car

Making to car ride more enjoyable!
home.

Both of us admitted to getting choked up after we said goodbye. We had such a nice visit and weren't sure when we'll see each other next. It's hard having such a great friend that lives so far away, but we promised to see each other soon.

The drive home was faster than the drive there, despite me overshooting my first exit and then ending up driving around ANOTHER one of their state parks, realizing that probably wasn't going to turn into the hwy. The drive was lovely with the nice weather - allowing me to drive with the windows down and singing my music nice and loud (one of my favourite ways to unwind!).

Totally worth the drive to visit my friend. Great weekend.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Welcome to NYWelcome to NY
Welcome to NY

Long wait to get across the border
Pennsylvania Welcomes YouPennsylvania Welcomes You
Pennsylvania Welcomes You

I missed the Ohio sign though!
World MarketWorld Market
World Market

Alisa modeling an apron in her fav store
New Friends!New Friends!
New Friends!

Tonka and I
SwensonsSwensons
Swensons

Where they serve your meal to your car!
SwensonsSwensons
Swensons

Eating our meal off the window tray
Pretty DrivePretty Drive
Pretty Drive

This was when I got lost and ended up in a state park!


17th March 2009

weep weep. twas a lovely time my dear! can't wait to do it again. twilight comes out march 21.
17th May 2010
Lebron James' House

I think that the house looks nice but it will be nice if he will show more
7th October 2010
Lebron James' House

NICE HOUSE BIG FAN
NICE HOUSE LEBRON AND I'AM A BIG FAN HOPE U HAVE A NICE YEAR WIYH THE HEATS
2nd November 2010
Running?

nice james
20th December 2010
Welcome Home!

your pics are so cute love it rock on girl
20th December 2010
New Friends!

i use to live in ohio but now im married have 2 kidsabout to have another i hope its a girl

Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1816s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb