Fort Ransom & Sheyenne Valley


Advertisement
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Valley City, I took the Sheyenne River Valley Scenic Byway south. Very, very pretty drive of the rolling hills throughout the valley and trees. So green this early in summer. Some of the road is paved but a good portion of the south end is gravel.

I stopped at Fort Ransom to see the Historic Site and State Park. I did a short nature walk in the Park which was so incredibly peaceful! So very quiet with a small creek running through most of it and the Sheyenne on the sides. In visiting with the Park attendant, I found out that a number of people come to the Park to enjoy the nature walks and try to capture photos of birds. You can also rent canoes to take down the Sheyenne and there's plenty of camping spots available as well. They also have a mountain bike trail and you can bring your own horse to go horseback riding. I also drove up to the overlook of the Valley where you get a good view of the rolling hills and trees.

I was surprised to read that the Byway is over 60 miles long. As I mentioned in a previous blog, it follows the Sheyenne River which is the only river which starts and ends in North Dakota. I traveled as far as Lisbon and then started the drive back home. Would love to go back sometime...definitely a good place to de-stress.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Sheyenne ValleySheyenne Valley
Sheyenne Valley

You see these rolling hills throughout the drive. This is part of the view from the overlook at Ft. Ransome State Park. Couldn't get a good shot with the River.


30th May 2007

This is a beautiful area.
Amy: I have been in this area a number of times. It is, as you said, so peaceful and beautiful. I have an uncle at the Vetrans Cemetery in Lisbon and so I go quite often and always enjoy the drive. I will have to get out and explore more than I have. I know there is much I have not seen.

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb