Tornado and Severe Thunderstorm Warnings.


Advertisement
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today is the second day in Greensboro.

On Monday I got here around noon and checked in. However, we had all gone out in DC to go bowling and Marek kept buying me delicious Blue Moon pints. Took us an hour to walk home after the ally closed at midnight. Apparently DC blocks take forever to walk. Plus there was a ridiculous moment every other block, like begging Dominos guys to reopen for pizza, riding the basic frame of a bike, or pushing me into a flowerbed. I passed out pretty fast on the fouton once we got back, that is until Ela brought me a bowl of the most ridiculous pasta. I do believe that CURRY was the base of the cheese sauce. I believe you can imagine how that went. Tostitos were the only thing that brought my stomach back from the red zone. It was probably the most delicious pasta ever though, regardless of everything else. Four hours later I got up to hit the road. Ela brought me some of Tomek's OJ while I was getting ready, since it was the only thing she could find to bring me for breakfast. I forgot over the last two years how wonderful she really is. We agreed that we were both the best roomates we ever had. We just clicked with everything, and she appriciated me as much as I appriciated who she was.

Yesterday I went to the Habitat office to check in with everyone. Luckily, I showed up right as the new construction team was having a meeting. Lisa took me in to meet them and Matt and Amanda recognised me pretty quickly with smiles. Everyone seems so friendly and excited to meet these new volunteers. Ben (one of the guys working with Housing Greensboro) came over to hang out and while he was here Adam also showed up. We helped him move in and everyone just kind of hung out like normal. Sarah, Adam, and I took a trip to the grocery store and then made dinner together. We all kind of passed out early.

This morning we woke up with no power in apparently most of the city. In addition, it is STILL raining (is there a cloud over my head!?!) and they have added a tornado warning to the mix. Glorious. Nate's plane is scheduled to get here this afternoon (completing our apartment) but who knows with this storm. Sarah is planning on making cookies tonight and the 5 of us are planning a movie night in the living room. This could really start to feel like home.

I'm going to do a moment of feelings (a habit I try to avoid). I'm a bit homesick, especially for my siblings and cousin and family and dogs and friends. Oh, that covers everyone. This summer was so complete that a week with not much to do besides get settled seems really empty. I'm dying to go paddling, or to work on a house, or to sit around and have margaritas, or go to wing night, or just sit around and watch Heroes. I know more and more that this is exactly what I want to be doing, I have so much passion for this cause. At the same time, I wish I could have everything. I wish I could have the chances and opportunities being in Plattsburgh provided (a phrase I never thought I would say before I lived through this summer). It makes me happy to know that I have come to appriciate that place just a little bit more.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb