Manila Trip D-2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Durham
January 3rd 2007
Published: January 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Starting Gate

Nanaline Duke Building, Duke University Durham, North Carolina, United States

Sitting in the Nicchitta laboratory, thinking about all of the things I'm trying not to forget before my flight in less than 48 hours. I'm still in a post-holiday disarray, trying to get my affairs in order in North Carolina before the long trip (especially the 15 hours from O'Hare to Hong Kong). I've never traveled in Asia, certainly not as much as my parents. I got excellent experience in European travel, first to Russia via Finland in the summer of 1998, Paris in January of 1999, then Switzerland, Italy, Greece, England, and Scotland in the summer of 2003. Asia holds a new wonder, mystery for me. This is unlike all the previous trips, because this is a reconnection with home.

I've heard much about the Philippines from my parents and family, seen them off on many trips while I could never go because of school. Now, thanks to graduate school and a merciful boss, we can no longer postpone the trip that we, as a family, have so awaited. My return to the Philippines, a sought after immersion in my roots. The brazen intellect and artistry of Rizal, the political turmoil, the natural beauty, the EDSA traffic, meeting with family halfway across the world.

As I said, I am still in a post-holiday numbness, much as I enjoyed my week home in California. I can hardly believe what I am about to undertake, but I suspect that is what most people feel on the verge of such a journey. Without Charley and Rocinante, I have merely the coach comfort of a 747, Noli Me Tangere at my side, and the promise of rejoining my family on native soil which I have never touched.

Two more nights before the dawn on the Orient's 7107 pearls. I still need to finish packing. Oh the horrors of procrastination!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb