Downtown today...& Helicopter flight OMG


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
April 19th 2012
Published: April 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Had checked the weather and looked good so reserved my helicopter flight over Manhattan. Managed (again!) to use the subway to get to Downtown South Ferry and to find the right Pier that the helicopters operate from. Nerves started to build. Wondered if it would live up to my expectations as this event was high on my 'must do' list and of course is on my Bucket List. Got there way too early (typical I hear the kids groan - so even though managing the subway have no idea of times/distances involved...lol). Lots of security and instructions - but that was good. Had to disclose my weight - shucks - and English guy behind me was in a bit of a pickle cos he didn't know his weight. I giggled and told him that they're not 'judging us'..Anyway, 5 of us go in one helicopter and I was fortunate to be in the front seat!

What can I say? Holy crap...it was fantastic. I was worried that I had built it up so much in my mind..but it was all and more that I expected. Great - breathtaking view - lots of "Oooh" and "Ahhh" moments. Took lots of photos but also sat back to enjoy the ride. After the ride, walking away on the pier - had to hold backt the tears for a moment.

So what next? Took the (free) Staten Island ferry as I had been told it passes the Statue of Liberty - and was able to take a few photos of it. I'll try and post a few.

Then walked around to Wall Street and on to Ground Zero. Wasn't sure if I had wanted to this as knew it would be touching and emotional but also felt that I somehow needed to as a mark of respect. Anyway, walked through the family memorial/museum and I was right - overwhelming and very sad. Pictures of people who died, bits of one of the planes, Fire Fighter uniform etc. Then did a guided walk around Ground Zero. Our guides were people who had been touched by the tragedy (Security Manager who had been involved and in Tower 2 on the day) and the other had lost her youngest son who worked at the World Trade Centre. Made it all the more real hearing their stories.

So - bit of a roller coaster, emotional day - but very special. Am feeling very lucky.

Hmm...what will tomorrow bring? Am thinking a quieter day might be in order. P'raps a day in Central Park then go to the theatre at night. Sounds like a plan.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Statue of LibertyStatue of Liberty
Statue of Liberty

Taken from the Staten Island Ferry
NYPDNYPD
NYPD

NY Police Officers on Wall St


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb